Europa Universalis IV

Europa Universalis IV Badge
Paradox Development Studio is back with the fourth installment of the game that defined the Grand Strategy Genre.

Purchase
Sale

$9.99$39.99 SAVE 75%

Media

Description

Paradox Development Studio is back with the fourth installment of the game that defined the Grand Strategy Genre. Europa Universalis IV gives you control of a nation to guide through the years in order to create a dominant global empire. Rule your nation through the centuries, with unparalleled freedom, depth and historical accuracy.

True exploration, trade, warfare and diplomacy will be brought to life in this epic title rife with rich strategic and tactical depth.
  • Make your own decisions: Nation building is flexible. Decide your own form of government, the structure of your society, trade politics and more. The possibilities are endless
  • Use your Monarch Power: Experience the new system of monarch power where your choices are influenced by the caliber of the man you have at the top. Do you have a warrior King? Then it is time to make war
  • Experience history come to life: The great people and personalities of the past are on hand to support you. Thousands of historical events guide you, creating a unique atmosphere depending on the country you play
  • The world is now your playground: Players can enjoy over 300 years of gameplay with a lush topographic map in full 3D. Lead any one of more than 250 countries that originally existed during the game’s extensive time span
  • Experience the all new trade system: The trade system adds a new dimension to the great trade empires of the period. Seize control of key ports to expand your trade, support it with your powerful fleet and the wealth of the world will flow to you
  • Bring out your diplomatic skills: Deeper diplomatic gameplay with coalitions, threats, fleet basing rights and detailed support for rebels. Featuring a new unilateral opinion system that, for example, allows a country to dislike you while you remain neutral towards them
  • Engage in Multiplayer: Battle against your friends or try the co-operative multiplayer mode that allows several players to work together to control a single nation with up to 32 players. Featuring hotjoin, improved chat, new matchmaking servers and support for a standalone servers
  • Create your own history & customize your game: Europa Universalis IV gives you the chance to customize and mod practically anything your heart may desire

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.6.8Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU Cores2
CPU Speed2 GHz
System RAM2 GB
Drive Space2 GB
Video RAM1 GB
Video (ati)AMD Radeon HD 6750M *
* Unsupported Video Cards: ATI Radeon X1300, ATI Radeon X1600, ATI Radeon X1900 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro, ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT, ATI Radeon HD 4670, ATI Radeon HD 4850, ATI Radeon HD 4870, ATI Radeon HD 5670, ATI Radeon HD 5750, ATI Radeon HD 5770, ATI Radeon HD 5870, AMD Radeon HD 6490M, AMD Radeon HD 6630M
Video (nvidia)NVIDIA GeForce 320M *
* Unsupported Video Cards: NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500, NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600, NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300, NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, NVIDIA GeForce 9400, NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT, NVIDIA GeForce GT 120, NVIDIA GeForce GT 130
Video (intel)Intel HD Graphics 4000 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: Intel GMA 900, Intel GMA 950, Intel GMA X3100, Intel HD Graphics, Intel HD Graphics 3000
Important Notes:
  • Requires Steam and a Steam Account to play.

Downloadable Content For This Game (DLC)

DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Conquest of ParadiseReleased 1/14/2014$14.99$7.49
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Wealth of NationsReleased 6/4/2014$9.99$4.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Res PublicaReleased 7/16/2014$4.99$2.49
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Guns, Drums and Steel Music PackReleased 10/30/2014$2.49$1.24
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: The Art of War CollectionReleased 10/30/2014$24.99$12.49
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Evangelical Union Unit PackReleased 10/30/2014$1.99$0.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Catholic League Unit PackReleased 10/30/2014$1.99$0.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Songs of War Music PackReleased 10/30/2014$1.99$0.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Art of WarReleased 10/31/2014$19.99$9.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: El Dorado CollectionReleased 2/26/2015$19.99$9.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: El Dorado Content PackReleased 2/26/2015$5.99$2.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: El DoradoReleased 2/27/2015$14.99$7.49
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Sounds from the Community - Kairis SoundtrackReleased 6/9/2015$5.99$2.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Common Sense CollectionReleased 6/9/2015$19.99$9.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Common Sense Content PackReleased 6/9/2015$5.99$2.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Common SenseReleased 6/9/2015$14.99$7.49
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: The CossacksReleased 12/1/2015$19.99$9.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Kairis Soundtack Part IIReleased 4/5/2016$2.49$1.24
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Mare NostrumReleased 4/5/2016$14.99$7.49
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Rights of ManReleased 10/11/2016$19.99$9.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Mandate of HeavenReleased 4/6/2017$19.99$9.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Cradle of CivilizationReleased 11/15/2017$19.99$16.95
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization - Content PackReleased 11/15/2017$7.99$3.99
DLCEuropa Universalis IV: Cradle of Civilization CollectionReleased 11/15/2017$24.99$12.49

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.6
From 87 Shoppers
5
 
70
4
 
10
3
 
1
2
 
3
1
 
3

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. A great game for strategy fans looking for a very deep experience
    by Air H., Latvia - Nov 19th 2017

    At the moment of writing this review, I have put 85 hours into EU4 and I have enjoyed every single minute of it. While it can take a good time to wrap your head around (even now I am still not sure I am using the games very deep systems to their full potential), the amount of options you are presented will make any strategy fan excited.
    There is a huge amount of DLCs for this game, though most of them are cosmetic- out of the main expansions, the ones I'd recommend you get are Common Sense, Art of War and Rights of Man. While the game is playable without them, it would be best to either revert to a previous version or play only in Europe (even then, without AoW transfer occupation, it is quite annoying).
    If you can get past the DLC and the steep learning curve, the game will be a blast, and I can fully recommend it to anyone. -1 star for the DLCs however.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Great strategy game
    by Laserguy, Slovenia - Sep 27th 2017

    This game is one of my favourite strategy games of all time. It has a lot of DLC, but I think they arent necesary to enjoy the game. The game has a big learning curve, but once you get over it its very fun to. I have more then 650 hours in this game.

    2 out of 3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Brilliant strategy game
    by Cristi P., Romania - Sep 4th 2017

    I won't lie, this game is hard to get into (I tried picking it up several times it the past, but got annoyed with losing too much), but once you do, you can easily sink hundreds of hours into it. The world is richly detailed, the geography and history are largely accurate, and you get a significantly different experience depending on your starting nation and the goals you have in mind (near-endless re-playability in my mind).

    On the fence as to whether or not to detract a star (eventually elected not to), because of the ridiculous state of the DLCs. You need to do a heck of a lot of research to figure out which DLCs are worthwhile, and a lot of DLC packs are largely useless (containing mostly unit texture packs). Otherwise, the base game has a ton of content for the price anyway, but you will very likely feel the need to get the expansions once you get a taste of the original.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Great strategy game
    by Lukas F.6, Czech Republic - Sep 1st 2017

    I just love this game. This game totally deserves to be called: The Grand Strategy. Each time you play everything is so different from the last time and that is what makes this game so great.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. :D
    by Josip K., Croatia - Jul 24th 2017

    Just perfect, great game, to play with friends and family

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Recommendation with a caveat
    by JRespaldiza, USA - Apr 28th 2017

    I do recommend buying EUIV to anyone who enjoys grand strategy games. However, unlike several of Paradox's other grand strategy games, EUIV is not a game that merely benefits from the released DLC, it nearly requires them. There are a number of gameplay innovations in the DLC that make it a much more enjoyable experience, and the base game - while still enjoyable - is poorer without them.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Great intro to Paradox Interactive games
    by jjjnagy, USA - Feb 9th 2017

    This was my second Paradox Interactive game (after Victoria 2), and I still think it has the easiest (and often most forgiving) learning curve. The game, in my view, ultimately relies on steering trade and manipulating the New World and the East Indies to your advantage. In this sense, it's a little one-sided, but internal events like the Reformation and the upcoming DLC/patch with Ages fill-out the game even more.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Europa
    by Bebeto, Romania - Nov 26th 2016

    Amazing game with lots of silly moments gone sexual, unless you have a big wallet and your nans credit card i'd suggest you buy the game and its respective DLC on Sale.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Bestes Mikro-Strategie-Spiel das ich kenne :)
    by RaupenRudi, Germany - Oct 2nd 2016

    Ich spiele dieses Spiel jetzt seit insgesamt über 300 Stunden und es ist immernoch nicht lagweilig! Vor 2 Jahren gekauft, begeistert es mich immer wieder durch neue Inhalte, Nationen, Events etc pp.

    Kauftipp für Freunde des EXTREM-Mikro-Managements und der weniger aufgeprägten Militärführung ;)

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Muy buen juego
    by Judini64, Mexico - Sep 3rd 2016

    Un juego grandioso el cual me enseño mucho sobre esas epocas y me entretuvo por horas y horas ya que al jugarlo me siento el pais y siento el poder.

    [A great game which taught me a lot about those times and I entertained for hours as the play I feel the country and feel the power.]

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Great Game
    by SteveS, USA - Aug 10th 2016

    Mildly similar to the Civilization series but not really. Imagine Civ with all the things you wish it had, including a steep learning curve and insane amounts of DLC, and you've got EU4.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Fenomenalna!
    by boronafide, Poland - May 8th 2016

    EUIV jest jedną z bardziej wymagających strategii, jednak dostarcza wiele radości i satysfakcji. Polecam!

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. The King of Strategy Games
    by Elias Chapelle, USA - Apr 21st 2016

    Europa Universalis IV, like most Paradox games, has a very steep learning curve. Dipping into the game requires a commitment of time and energy that is unlike other strategic games. It helps if you have a good understanding of history and if you are a history fanatic. If you are willing to spend the energy to learn this game system, you will be rewarded with what may be the best computer simulation of history available.

    There are many DLCs for the game but you should not tackle them until you develop a good understanding of the game mechanics. Once you learn the game mechanics of this game you will easy transfer your knowledge to other Paradox games.

    6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Great game but confusing
    by milanholman, Netherlands - Apr 14th 2016

    This game is great, but it can be very confusing for new players, despite the tutorials

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. Great grand strategy game
    by Chrisser000, Denmark - Mar 31st 2016

    Worth every dollar. Great strategy game, much better than any RTS or Civ-like game.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Paradox Interactive

Currency