Braid

Braid Badge
Explore the human condition and manipulate time in the lush, painterly world of Braid.

Purchase

$9.95 

Media

Description

Explore the human condition and manipulate time in the lush, painterly world of Braid, a puzzle-platformer that takes you from a house in the city on a journey through a series of worlds to solve puzzles and rescue the princess. In each world, you have a different power to affect the way time behaves, including the ability to rewind, create parallel realities, and utilize time dilation. There is no filler in this game; every puzzle shows you something new and interesting about the game world.
  • Untraditional platforming: You can never die and never lose, but challenge is always present and focused on solving puzzles, rather than forcing you to play and replay tricky jumps.
  • Puzzle-rich environment: Travel through a series of worlds searching for puzzle pieces and solving puzzles by manipulating time: rewinding, creating parallel universes and setting up pockets of dilated time. The gameplay is always fresh and new and the puzzles inspire new ways of thinking.
  • Aesthetic design: A painterly art style and lush, organic soundtrack complement the unique gameplay.
  • Non-linear story: A nonlinear fiction links the various worlds and provides real-world metaphors for your time manipulations; act out real-world themes at your own pace, exploring playful “what if” universes.
  • Forgiving gameplay: The game doesn’t force you to solve puzzles in order to proceed. If you can’t figure something out, just play onward and return to that puzzle later.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.5.8Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU CoresAny
CPU SpeedAny
System RAM512 MB
Drive SpaceUnknown
Video RAMAny
Video (ati)Any
Video (nvidia)Any
Video (intel)Intel GMA 950 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: Intel GMA 900

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

3.9
From 67 Shoppers
5
 
30
4
 
17
3
 
8
2
 
4
1
 
8

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Worth it for the music alone.
    by elvee, Netherlands - Jun 24th 2016

    It's a sweet indie game, with cool mechanics. I wasn't a fan of the story, but that didn't hold me back from enjoying the gameplay.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Grown-up gaming
    by Jack Fate, United Kingdom - Apr 25th 2016

    The beautiful graphics initially draw you in to thinking that this will be just a slick update to the sort of platformers that were around in the 80s-90s. However after the first couple of levels it becomes obvious that Braid is so much more.

    Having introduced the rewind-time mechanic early on, it now stops being a novelty and becomes essential to completing the level as the puzzles ramp up.
    The puzzling is certainly challenging but never illogical or too obscure. Overall, a gorgeous- looking game that is both fun and engaging.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Fun ... but not easy
    by Karl F. Davie Burgdorf, USA - Nov 30th 2015

    Braid is fun to play but it requires more brain cells than many other games of its type. Be ready to be challenged.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Gran juego, sólo que muy corto
    by UnixBill, Spain - May 26th 2015

    Gran juego, sólo que muy corto... me demore menos de 2 horas en pasarlo, pero valió la pena

    [Great game, so short ... it took me less than 2 hours pass, but worth it]

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Smart and Beautiful
    by JRJ, Netherlands - Jun 12th 2014

    It starts like a simple painterly platformer. Then you get a time-rewind ability, handy when you die. Then said ability becomes the point of play. Time starts flowing in strange ways, and thus becomes your playground.

    It might be frustrating to initially get into, because you were expecting something else. But when you get it, it becomes a joy to play. I played through the entire game without any help, though some parts surely took a while to figure out. The only exception is collecting the puzzle pieces. I got some, but didn't care to go after the hard-to-reach ones. Best played when you're relaxed and in no need to finish quickly.

    There's a little story in there which has nothing to do with what you're seeing, so you might not notice the history it refers to. But you don't need a story to enjoy this game.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Beautiful Game, Quirky but Frustrating
    by Doc Savage, USA - Jun 2nd 2014

    This is a really interesting game. At first it looks like your standard platformer and the first few levels are pretty straight forward. Then it starts getting a little weird. Then it starts getting confounding. Despite the fact that they specifically ask you not to cheat, I found several levels quite impossible to figure out without turning to a walkthrough video.

    The puzzles are interesting and they sort of tell a story that is somewhat engaging but it wasn't quite enough to keep me going. I hung it up before getting to the end.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Maybe it's me...
    by Zelmia, USA - Nov 29th 2013

    … but I never really understood this game. It wants you to do things that are not possible until you reach a certain level - but you can't reach that level unless you get through the level you're not able to get out of until you do that thing. If that sentence is confusing, then you'll understand how I felt playing this game.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Smart and beautiful
    by Andras Csibi, Hungary - Jan 19th 2013

    Very unique gameplay mechanics! Thinking about the various forms of time manipulation really challenges your notion of time and space. The implementation, the visuals, the music, the story is also amazing. You hear people say that "Braid is art", and it's hard to argue with them.

    The play time is not that long, but the puzzles are all unique, there are no fillers or repetitions. The price is also great for the value.
    It's a game that everybody should play once in a lifetime.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Frustrating
    by Christine Madero, USA - Sep 9th 2011

    I was frustrated from the get go trying to maneuver the little man using my laptop keys.

    2 out of 11 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Stunning
    by zachary johnston, Australia - Jul 21st 2009

    A beautifully constructed work of art. The visuals and soundtrack tugs at your heart strings, as does the touching story. Game play is simple at first, but will soon challenge the most lateral of minds. Buy this game - it's a rare treat to have such quality gaming on a Mac for such a low price.

    198 out of 396 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. The MUST HAVE game.
    by Kane Mitten, USA - Jun 6th 2009

    If you buy one game from MGA, buy this one. It's 5 stars all the way. I can't believe this is an indie game - Mr. Blow, I salute you! The stellar soundtrack and the beautiful art, the sad but true story, plus the crazy yet awesome gameplay mechanics make this game almost PERFECT!

    205 out of 421 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. AMAZING GAME
    by Gene Bechen, USA - Jun 5th 2009

    This is a beatiful looking game with fantastic music. Difficult puzzles as well. Must have.

    192 out of 413 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
Currency