Ravensword: Shadowlands

Ravensword: Shadowlands Badge
Ravensword brings great visuals to the role playing and adventure genre.

Purchase

$12.99 

Media

Description

From the award winning studio that brought you Ravensword: The Fallen King and Aralon: Sword and Shadow, comes RAVENSWORD: SHADOWLANDS.

Ravensword brings great visuals to the role playing and adventure genre. Explore a vast and richly detailed world, gather powerful weapons, collect hundreds of items, increase your skills, and follow a deep storyline to solve the mysteries of the Kingdom of Tyreas.
  • Enormous 3d world to explore
  • First Person and 3rd Person on the fly switching
  • Gorgeous and realistic scenery
  • Ragdoll Physics
  • Original Soundtrack from composer Sean Beeson
  • Hundreds of items to use
  • Reflex and precision based combat with manual blocking and dodging
  • Various weapon types - Bows, Crossbows, Hammers, Swords, Axes
  • Flying Mounts
  • Horses
  • Tons of enemy types including huge prehistoric creatures.
  • Lockpicking
  • Pick Pocketing
  • Stealth
  • Magical Runes
  • Item enhancement
  • Tons of loot
  • Plenty of armor upgrades
  • Mounted combat
  • Decision based, multi-part Quests
  • Reputation and Jail System
Copyright 2013 Crescent Moon Games

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.6.8Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
64bit SupportNo
CPU TypeUniversal
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed1 GHz
System RAM1 GB
Drive Space10 GB
Video RAMAny
Video CardAny

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4
From 29 Shoppers
5
 
12
4
 
11
3
 
2
2
 
1
1
 
3

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Simple but good
    by GUBallboy, USA - Nov 4th 2015

    Lacks a clear direction, but the graphics are reasonable and has a pretty open world with an interesting combat set up that forces/allows you to use all different kinds of weapons for different situations.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Fix the issue
    by VLOCT, Canada - Mar 12th 2015

    The game is slow and it's boring. Seems like assasin's creed with no fun.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. There is work to do
    by The Count, Italy - Apr 13th 2014

    I love RPGs, I bought it and I finished and I can say that I found interesting and certainly good things but, in my opinion, there are still many things to do to get five stars. A warning: during your explorations take care, you could fall through the ground!

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Pequeño gran rockstar
    by noeml, Mexico - Mar 11th 2014

    Bonito juego que vale cada uno de los pocos dólares que cuesta. ideal para desperdiciar una tarde aburrida. la curva de crecimiento del personaje es adictiva y los gráficos son simples pero lindos.

    (Nice game each worth the few dollars it costs. ideal for blowing a boring afternoon. the growth curve of the character is addictive and the graphics are simple but cute.)

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. This is a very good game with potential to be even better!
    by Optimus Prime, USA - Sep 5th 2013

    If you like Skyrim on the PC, this game is a Skyrim like game for the Mac, ported over from the Ravensword:Shadowlands for iOS.

    The graphics are pretty good and the gameplay is easy. Based on the skill you use, the more you use it, the better you get at it. For example I use swords a lot rather than bow and my sword skills improved over time, making me a very proficient swordsman. I managed to level up by just hunting wild boar and deer initially but i soon went on the hunt goblins.

    In this game you eat, so I recommend going out of the town and hunt wild boar- you get pork and boar hide and you can sell the excess and save the food for yourself instead of buying food in town.

    I leveled up to level 12 and i completed the side mission by attacking a goblin camp and recovering the item the blacksmith needed and I also got the mage who was trapped in the jug out by getting fairy water by the caverns inhabited by giants.

    I also recommend you guys to practice the stealth skill, i will come in handy for evasion or sneak attacks.

    You also get to craft items and enhance items with gems and other things but I myself haven't got to that point yet.

    The game is very good- great graphics, fairly good controls, great view options, easy learning curve to play, and adequate challenges and it is fun.

    My only complaint is the occasional lag in certain parts of town, and to improve performance, turn down to view distance and the game will run more smoothly- I hope the developer will patch this great game in the near future to further improve performance.

    5 out of 6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. What a waste of money !
    by Mynou de Mey, USA - Aug 27th 2013

    Horrible to play…. I wish I had not been lured into it by the derscription. Sounded good, but was terrible… not recommended at any level.

    2 out of 6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. What a truly awful game...
    by Kesira, United Kingdom - Aug 19th 2013

    What a complete waste of money! The graphics are terrible in the extreme, the game play cumbersome and illogical and the storyline… well. What a complete waste of time and money, how this game managed to score as highly as it has is beyond me.

    1 out of 4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Fantastic Game
    by Kenneth Kump, USA - Jun 28th 2013

    For those of us who do not have good eye/hand cordnation, this game is fantastic.

    The only problem that I have with Ravensword2 is a system hang if I chose to quit without saving. The program (for the Mac) causes no problems with Power down/power up with this hang condition with Ravensword2.

    For this old man (70+ yrs old) the easy setting is great.

    I like the game because it allows the player to go where he wants and do what he wants to do. It allows a player to power up before going into the main quest and the additional quests are nice at powering up the character.

    It is important to remember who the player meets during the game and where.

    Eventually I shall work my way up to the more difficult levels.

    thanks for a good game for all age groups and for all dexterity groups.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. It May Be Buggy and Glitchy, But Worth The Price of Admission
    by JaguarGod, USA - May 31st 2013

    OK, let me preface this review with a quick statement…. no, this game is not as in depth or as polished as Oblivion/Skyrim though it is obviously inspired by it. But you know what… Having played through the entire game, sidequests and all, it is still quite fun to play and even to look at in some respects. I think I had lowered my expectations when I saw this game had been reworked for Mac. The game was great on iOS, but a lot of that has to do with the expectations of the hardware. It could be said that Ravensword: Shadowlands is a great technical achievement on iOS, but a bit of a technical mishap on OSX. No matter what though, the game is a good deal for $12.99 USD in my opinion. Let's get into the review categories.

    GRAPHICS
    OK, there are points of the game at which the vistas look great and easily impress. You have to remember that this game is an iOS game reworked for the Mac. With that in mind, you may have a fresh approach to Ravensword: Shadowloands. You can change the draw distance which will help the game on some slower Macs. With this draw distance all the way up, you can see quite far, but you still see some draw-in in the distance. But it does not really affect the gameplay. A bunch of strange things do appear throughout the game though. A lot of glitches, walking through walls, missing polygonal edges, floating trees and other objects, strange objects high in the sky in South Aven, and some others. But if you can look past these, there is a lot to enjoy in the graphics department. Normal mapping is used to its fullest in the environments, creatures and people of the Ravensword universe which does make the game look more next-gen, or in this case, present-gen. But all in all the graphics do their job.

    SOUND
    The soundtrack is very well done for a smaller game. The music fits the atmosphere at most times, but does feel strange sometimes in certain circumstances. The creatures all have the sounds you would probably expect. There is some voice-over work for the NPC's, but most of the dialogue throughout the game is text. It would have been great to have this enhanced for the Mac version, but understandably, this would have been almost impossible and cost more. The weapon sounds are well done, but a bit shallow. The ambient sounds are also well done in some areas and others seem a bit too bland. This is where the music can help out.

    GAMEPLAY
    This is where some people will be having a problem. I will try my best to project the gameplay issues realistically. The gameplay in Ravensword is in broad scope, fine. But the little details are definitely missed here. It is very easy to get around, fight and traverse the landscapes. But you will find that some strange things can happen. I have walked through walls and fallen through others, jumped my way up a mountain just to fall through a false floor and I have even been stuck inside a Dino Cow after killing it. Yes, these are the things you will encounter when playing Ravensword for OSX. One issue that has followed from the iOS version is the loot waiting time. After killing a creature, you have to wait a few seconds, sometimes 3-5 seconds for the green loot effect to become visible letting you know that you can now loot your fallen enemy. This may seem like only an annoyance, but when you are slaying creatures quickly, it really causes an issue. You will find yourself killing a group of enemies first, then returning to loot them almost in the order you killed them to get the best timing. And this does work well if you can get it right. Also, the inventory menu, in which you can equip and enhance your character and his items, is poorly done. Clicking and dragging to find items is not very efficient in this case. Also, there are times where items will overlap each other in the menu causing some initial frustration. One other point here is the "buying a home" portion of the game. If you want to do everything in the game, you can buy a home and even furnish it. I did this and found it to be very disappointing. Dropping the items and moving them is not practical and should have been addressed in my opinion. But it is a side project in the game, so it is something that can be forgiven.

    STORY
    The story of Ravensword, though fairly basic, is well done. The side quests, though smaller in scope, are a nice diversion from the main quest and there are quite a few of them to keep you busy. I found myself wanting to finish the current quest to get to the next one. The storytelling is not very in-depth, but it gets the job done. I was interested to know what happened and what was going to happen next.

    OVERALL
    For the $12.99 USD price tag, you get a game that tries to emulate what some other RPG's have successfully portrayed. It does that, but in a very limited role. I could not give this game five stars as I do not believe it warrants it, but it definitely earns the four in my opinion. There is a lot to like in Ravensword: Shadowlands, but there is a lot that could have been much better. With a bit more time and polish, this OSX port could be a very good game. In its current released state, the game is a nice Oblivion/Skyrim wannabe that I think you will enjoy. Just be careful where you explore or you may end up falling through the ground ;)

    41 out of 42 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Crescent Moon Games

Currency