Cities in Motion

Cities in Motion Badge
Cities in Motion is a city-based mass transportation simulator.

Purchase

$19.95 

Media

Description

Rendered in rich detail, four of the world’s greatest cities - Vienna, Helsinki, Berlin, and Amsterdam - await the steady hand of a planner to manage their transportation needs in Cities in Motion.

Overseeing the changing needs of people from 1920 to 2020, it’s up to you to manage everything from buses, trams and subway trains to maximize profits while pleasing commuters.
  • Explore four different cities: Vienna, Helsinki, Berlin, and Amsterdam
  • Engage in a campaign with 12 scenarios, as well as a sandbox mode where all campaign cities are playable
  • Experience realistic 3D graphics with more than 100 unique, highly detailed buildings
  • Use the advanced map editor to create your own cities
  • Play through 100 years of transportation history throughout four eras spanning from 1920 to 2020
  • Choose between more than 30 different vehicles based on real-life models of buses, trams, water buses, helicopters, and subways, complete with an underground view
  • Experience a real-time city and traffic simulator as each location's bustling population commutes between their homes, jobs, and leisure sites

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.6.8Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU Cores2
CPU Speed2 GHz
System RAM2 GB
Drive Space2 GB
Video RAM512 MB
Video (ati)ATI Radeon HD 4670 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: ATI Radeon X1300, ATI Radeon X1600, ATI Radeon X1900 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro, ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
Video (nvidia)NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS *
* Unsupported Video Cards: NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500, NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600, NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300, NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
Video (intel)Not Supported
Important Notes:
  • Optional Steam Key provided with purchase. Not required.

Downloadable Content For This Game (DLC)

DLCCities In Motion TokyoReleased 6/17/2011$9.95
DLCCities in Motion: Design Marvels DLCReleased 7/4/2011$4.99
DLCCities In Motion: Design Classics DLCReleased 7/4/2011$4.99
DLCCities In Motion: Design Now DLCReleased 7/15/2011$4.99
DLCCities In Motion: Metro Stations DLCReleased 7/15/2011$2.95
DLCCities in Motion: German CitiesReleased 9/15/2011$6.99
DLCCities in Motion: US CitiesReleased 1/19/2012$5.99
DLCCities in Motion: Design Dreams DLCReleased 2/29/2012$3.99
DLCCities in Motion: ULMReleased 4/17/2012$1.99
DLCCities in Motion: ParisReleased 5/15/2012$4.99
DLCCities in Motion: St. PetersburgReleased 7/26/2012$4.99
DLCCities in Motion: LondonReleased 11/21/2012$4.99
DLCCities In Motion: Design QuirksReleased 2/5/2013$2.99

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

3.8
From 140 Shoppers
5
 
59
4
 
32
3
 
23
2
 
13
1
 
13

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Highly Encouraged
    by Derrick Magnotta, USA - May 31st 2015

    I highly encourage this game for fans of any city building simulator. It captures the intellectual component (logistics, economics, accounting) while still entertaining you by watching the trains go by.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Awesome Game
    by victorzimmer, Norway - Apr 8th 2014

    I really like simulation-strategy games of this kind. This game had a real steep learning curve and in the beginning making lots of the in-game money seemed impossible, but after some hours of playing I got used to the game mechanics. One of the best games I've ever played.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Similar to Sim Sity, but not quite.
    by Ali Schmalenberger, USA - Feb 5th 2014

    I love Sim City. It's one of my favorite games. I bought this game because I thought it would give the same sort of interaction. While it was enjoyable, and did have the same "building city" simulation, it wasn't what I was looking for. I was missing the zoning (residential etc.) and leadership aspect of the game

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Enjoyable game
    by ChrisM, Ireland - Dec 28th 2013

    Cities in Motion is an enjoyable sim game, with plenty of depth to keep you playing. The only bug I've seen is the tendency of trams to get "stuck" on corners. This means backlogs in tram and road traffic occur. Apart from that it's a fun and challenging game.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Not Bad
    by jacob albright, Canada - Nov 3rd 2013

    Some functions for mass transit seem poorly designed and do not place well

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Can't getenough of this game!
    by jruicci, England - Oct 24th 2013

    This game is one of the most addictives I have ever had

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Great puzzle, but lacks excitement
    by omega132, USA - Aug 13th 2013

    I came to this game from SimCity, which is seriously deficient in transit planning strategy. Cities in Motion has very well-designed scenarios and it's an interesting puzzle to build the transit systems, but I found that it just didn't seem exciting - I couldn't build the epic railway systems that already exist in the maps, and the game world seem to significantly change from my influence.

    That being said, it was definitely worth buying on sale - I've put in many hours into it and very much enjoyed it. Once I understood how to beat it, however, I lost some interest in continuing to play. I'm looking forward to Cities in Motion 2!

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Game works perfect on iMac with 256 ram videocart
    by Edwin_de_V, Netherlands - Mar 16th 2013

    I play this game on my three year old iMac with a 256 ram videocart. The Mac Game Store told me I would probably had problems playing the game but this is not true. The game works like a charm. The only thing you can't do is run it with the settings set to high. But with lower settings it's still a great game.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Can run on Mac mini early 2009 (256MB VRAM max) but with low fps
    by jameserello, USA - Mar 14th 2013

    I've purchased the Steam version of this game and have racked up almost 900 hours in designing and upgrading transit routes in Russia, France, Italy and the U.S. The modding community is very active and has made patches and mods in order to correct some of the few faults found in the game (low capacity vehicles for one).

    Though the hardware requirements demand 512MBs of VRAM, some Macs can handle the game with only 256MB depending on your video card (ATI versus Nvidia). If you have low VRAM, turn off HDR, filtering, v-sync, anti-aliasing and set shadows to low. Just expect gameplay running at 8-20fps at fullscreen 1080p resolution. Because it's a sim game I've accepted the low framerate.

    If you have an older Mac but really want to try this game, it IS possible but there are caveats. If you're willing to take the plunge the game is rewarding, has tons of support and lots of DLC. Highly recommended.

    My Mac's hardware:
    2.0 GHz C2D, 500GB 7200rpm Hitachi TravelStar HDD, Nvidia GeForce 9400M 256MB, 8 GBs DDR3 1067 RAM, Mac OS X 10.8.2.

    5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Nice and pleasantly distracting
    by KarlW, New Zealand - Jun 3rd 2012

    I've wasted many hours on this and my kids love it. Never thought a public transport simulator would be so much fun. Great graphics and gameplay.

    9 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Pretty Nice
    by killblock623, USA - Mar 12th 2012

    Pretty nice game. Worth every penny of the $7 bucks (on sale). The graphics are pretty nice and fun to look at. And I love looking around the virtually living city and all the events happening at once, very realistic. The city creation engine is very fun to use and allows you to do almost anything you want and create almost any look of your city, from industrial to commercial.

    8 out of 9 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Best Transport Game Since Transport Tycoon
    by Mohawk, England - Mar 7th 2012

    The developers of this game deserve the utmost credit this is most brilliant in this day and age dominated by violent games - this is old school class and they have thought of almost every detail - give this game your patience and you will be rewarded... you just hope games like this continue to be developed.

    6 out of 7 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Graphics Ok in some modes
    by Captain Skurvy, Australia - Mar 5th 2012

    I have an iMac 2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with 6 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM and ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro 256 MB.

    In the high modes the game start screen is fine but when you start a new game or the tutorial you cant see the map (the screen appears blank where the map and buildings should be but the street names etc show up if you move your mouse around).

    In order to see the map graphic you have to drop the graphics way down in order to play the game. I don't know if this is an issue with my chipset or my running Lion 10.7.3.

    Also after playing for awhile the game becomes unresponsive so you need to restart it and free up memory.

    There are better sims out there but it's not too bad, but like most games of this vintage it rarely gets updated or debugged and i think it's long overdue.

    The games graphics are ok but nothing to write home about

    5 out of 6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. What's the problem?
    by John Kratus, USA - Feb 5th 2012

    This is an incredibly engrossing and realistic game for those who enjoyed Sim City and the like. The system requirements state, "The game does not support integrated video chipsets found in MacMini's and MacBooks." But I'm running it perfectly with no glitches at all on my standard MacBook with OS 10.7.3 and a 2.4 GHz dual processor.

    3 out of 4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. Graphics not supported
    by George C. Wood Jr, USA - Feb 4th 2012

    i'm trying to run this game on an iMac with the AMD Radeon HD 6970M graphics. I get a message that my graphics card isn't supported? Won't this game run successfully on the latest iMacs? Guess not.

    4 out of 9 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Paradox Interactive

Currency