Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Badge
Featuring a tense storyline, filled with plot twists, the title thrusts players into battle like never before.

Purchase

$19.99 

Media

Description

Featuring a tense storyline, filled with plot twists, the title thrusts players into battle like never before. With amazing special effects, including rim-lighting, depth of field, texture streaming and character self-shadowing, players are enlisted into one of the most photo-realistic gaming experiences imaginable.

The community-oriented Call of Duty 4 multiplayer gameplay features a robust leveling system, variety of unlockable perks, hot-join and matchmaking, as well as create a class and party capabilities to ensure that players of all skill levels can join in the fun. Additionally over 100 challenges and a host of new game environments and modes deliver unlimited possibilities. Infinity Ward has also included Kill-Cam, a fan favorite feature that they created in Call of Duty 2, which allows for spectator instant replays.
  • Authentic Advanced Weaponry – Featuring an available arsenal of more than 70 new and authentic weapons and gear from assault rifles with laser sites, claymore mines, .50 caliber sniper rifles, and M-249 SAW machine guns.
  • Coordinated Assault and Support – Delivering the most visceral action thriller ever, the title covers modern battle from the soldier to the satellite, where the need for air support is crucial to success. The adrenaline rush deployment enlists gamers to fast-rope from tactical helicopters, ride in an armada of attack choppers, utilize jets to remove enemy strongholds and even engage hostiles from thousands of feet above the ground inside a state of the art aerial gunship.
  • Cinematic Quality Graphics and Sound – Featuring stunning next-generation graphics, players will be drawn into the cinematic intensity of Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Combine the lifelike graphics and the realistic battle chatter with the Call of Duty award-winning sound design and players will face battle as they never have before.
  • Unparalleled Depth to Multiplayer – The highly-anticipated multiplayer builds from the success of Call of Duty 2 deliver a persistent online experience for greater community action.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.6.8Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
64bit SupportUnknown
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU Cores2
CPU Speed2 GHz
System RAM1 GB
Drive Space8 GB
Video RAM128 MB
Video (ati)ATI Radeon X1600 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: ATI Radeon X1300
Video (nvidia)NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT *
* Unsupported Video Cards: NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500, NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600, NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300
Video (intel)Intel HD Graphics 3000 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: Intel GMA 900, Intel GMA 950, Intel GMA X3100, Intel HD Graphics
Important Notes:
  • Requires Steam and a Steam Account to play.

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.4
From 320 Shoppers
5
 
216
4
 
58
3
 
23
2
 
4
1
 
19

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Arcade War
    by Alleycat, France - Oct 22nd 2013

    An action packed journey into contemporary military operations. The single player campaign is versatile and well paced but short (You'll be done in a weekend). The mecanics are simple and closest to an arcade military shooter. The series might be overated in terms of FPS, but it's contributed to making the genre an online multiplayer sport (most players are so good you'll be dead before you even blink).

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Great game!
    by Billy-Joe Schimak-Orrell, Australia - Oct 19th 2013

    This is a really great game, it is good to play one of the originals again, without so many hackers.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Gutes CoD
    by kruemelkeksfan, Germany - Oct 3rd 2013

    Als ich das Spiel das erste mal gestartet habe, war ich ziemlich skeptisch. Natürlich hat CoD seine Schwächen, stupides Gegner abknallen, ohne taktische Tiefe, schnurgerade Schlauchlevels und wenig eigene Entscheidungen. Auf der anderen Seite ist die Grafik hervorragend und die Story packend. Ich habe die Kampagne schnell durchgehabt, das macht aber nichts, weil man gerne auch mal ein paar Missionen wiederholt. Der Arcade-Modus sorgt dann noch einmal für einen Motivationsschub. Leider glänzt Modern Warfare 1 ni9cht gerade mit riesiger Waffenauswahl, die Entwickler haben sich scheinbar aufs Wesentliche beschränkt. Da sieht es bei Black Ops wesentlich besser aus.

    When I started the game the first time, I was pretty skeptical. Of course CoD shoot has its weaknesses, stupid enemies without tactical depth, straight tube levels and little own decisions. On the other hand, the graphics are excellent and the story gripping. I have been through the campaign quickly, but that does not matter because you also like to repeat a few times missions. The arcade mode ensures then again for a motivation boost. Unfortunately shines Modern Warfare 1 not just with a huge selection of weapons, the developers have apparently restricted to the essentials. Since it looks much better in Black Ops.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Der Beginn einer der besten Geschichten
    by Assinger85, Germany - Sep 10th 2013

    -Hammer Grafik ( zu dem damaligen Zeitpunkt )
    -Hammer Story….welche mit MW2 und 3 fortgeführt wird!

    Was soll ich sagen ich kann nichts negatives zu diesem Game sagen.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. GREAT GAME!!!!!
    by tennis4will, - Aug 26th 2013

    This is by far one of the BEST shooters out there. Graphics are great, gameplay is great, everything is amazing!!!!! I would definitley reccomend this game!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Real nice
    by mattie97, Netherlands - Mar 31st 2013

    The game is not real like it happened but it is still very good. a good first person shooter

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Excellent game.
    by T'hain Esh Kelch, Denmark - Dec 15th 2012

    Recommended of you like shooters. Hard at first, then it gets easier as your learn the game. Then it get bloody hard, even if you are experienced. ;) I enjoyed it a lot! Nice story also, and gameplay was excellent.

    I also highly recommend the multiplayer part - I had to delete it because I spend so much time on it!

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Amazing Game
    by TheHerkyrat, - Dec 3rd 2012

    This is one of the best MAC Fps shooters out there. Gameplay wise this game is fast-paced and has a lot of unique weapons to unlock as you level up in multiplayer. Also it has a great campaign to play and arcade mode. Even though this game is 5 years old this is what the base of modern COD games was built upon. So buy this game!

    8 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
    by Gdrewg, - Nov 12th 2012

    I thought the game was cool at first but as the game went on I started losing interest. I did finish the game but was not what I had expected out of it.

    2 out of 3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Good practice
    by jung, USA - Sep 4th 2012

    Great game overall. It is kinda hard at the beginning but you get use to it. I played with PC and its superb!

    2 out of 3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. It's a very good game
    by TJ-Nip-mighall, United Kingdom - Aug 2nd 2012

    I have played this on both xbox and ps3, highly recommend it anyone.

    4 out of 5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. As far as Mac games go? Get this now.
    by Bionic Andypoo, USA - Jul 30th 2012

    I recognize that there are a lot of Call of Duty haters on the internet. Many say that they don't innovate enough between games. That's somewhat true, but their games have enough variety for me to keep getting them. There are currently three Call of Duty games available on Mac, with a fourth scheduled for release later this year. Each one is very different and has kept me going through to the end. This is a top notch first-person shooter for the Mac, and I can't recommend it enough. The multiplayer is great, though difficult, and there are a ton of mods to keep you occupied (I'd strongly recommend the Galactic Warfare mod, as it's as close to a Total Conversion mod as I've found, and adds many maps as well as weapons from the Star Wars universe). I'd say wait for a sale, though, or get the disk, as $40 is a bit much. Many don't follow the story of Call of Duty (few knew it had one), but in Modern Warfare they introduce a story, follow it through, and able to keep you going through the game. I play it on a pretty old MacBook Pro, and it works fine. If you're hesitating, reading reviews, or just haven't gotten around to buying/playing this game yet Just play it. Now.

    12 out of 13 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Multiplayer lacking a good number of servers
    by Doobius, Belgium - Jun 30th 2012

    Sure, there are servers and players online but it aren't a whole lot. There only seems to be 3 to 4 servers that actually get populated. On some hours of the day it is a near dead space though.

    3 stars for that.

    Other than the multiplayer aspect I have no complaints.

    3 out of 5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Good-ish
    by Agent_Zeppin, USA - May 4th 2012

    It's Call of Duty 4. Other than the new, modern setting, it's about what you expect - an enjoyable, not at all taxing FPS. The story is a tad embarrassing but the gameplay itself is consistently enjoyable. The are plenty of the moments that you expect in a CoD game where you're left impressed and thoroughly satisfied.

    One notable change, however, is that in an attempt to be more realistic and less video game-y, CoD4 uses regenerating health in-place of medi-packs. That is, rather than picking up healing items, the player can take a certain number of hits in a row before they have to duck down and wait a few seconds to fully restore their health before they take the next half-dozen. While this does solve the problem of having to scramble for health packs every few hits, it represents a much more substantial change in the way the game is structured. Instead of forcing the player to hide, judge their shots, and in general play a careful game in which getting hit is something to fear, the game is instead structured with the understanding that you are going to hurt yourself. A lot. As a result, the game feels far more like an arcade game than the modern warfare FPS it touts itself as. Instead it's run-and-gun with the occasional pause for cover to refill your health. You don't have to play this way, but the game is designed with the expectation that you will, and thus there is little reason to do otherwise. Even if you do try to take it slow, certain levels will require you to move quickly, despite the dozens of enemies you're dealing with. I personally find this far less rewarding, and while medi-packs did nothing for the CoD series' realism, this shatters it.

    What's a half dozen bullets? You can shrug that off.

    5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. Well done port, plenty of multiplayer
    by Retr0Rob, USA - Apr 27th 2012

    I have noticed that some folks claim that there are few multiplayer games available. This is completely untrue. You just have to make sure to hit refresh to list the available servers. I have NEVER come across a time where there were few players and I have been playing this game for years. Hope the refresh tip helps some of you.
    The only problem I have noticed is that there are some blacked out textures when running this game on i-series processors. It's not a huge deal and does not show up in the single player game. You can fix it temporarily by changing the texture level in the options. It does not matter what level you change to or from, you just have to change it. (I alternate between "high" and "medium"). Once the problem reappears you can change back.

    4 out of 5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Aspyr Media

Currency