Eschalon: Book I

Eschalon: Book I Badge
Eschalon: Book I is a classic role-playing game experience that will take you across massive outdoor environments.

Purchase

$6.95 

Media

Eschalon: Book I Screenshot 1Eschalon: Book I Screenshot 2Eschalon: Book I Screenshot 3Eschalon: Book I Screenshot 4

Description

Eschalon: Book I is a classic role-playing game experience that will take you across massive outdoor environments and deep into sprawling dungeons as you seek to uncover the mystery of who - or what - you are.

A tile-built, turn-based game world where the result of absolutely every action is rolled, calculated or statistically determined. Strategy is paramount to success; careful skill management, equipment selection and magic usage will win your fights, not rapid button clicking. We are very pleased to say this is not another "action RPG".

Hundreds of items and dozens of creatures await your discovery. A combination of randomly generated treasure and carefully hidden goodies means that no two games will play the exact same way.

Unlimited character development style: Choose from 24 unique skills to make the character you want and 8 base attributes that affect your character's every action throughout the game. The game world does not scale or adjust itself to match anyone's play style, so the ease or difficulty of the game is directly related to how successful you are at developing your character.

Combat plays out at your pace. Eschalon: Book I features a turn-based system that allows you to roll through combat as fast or slow you want...make it fast and furious, or analyze every option for maximum advantage.

A non-linear storyline means that the game world is open to explore as you desire. Follow the storyline or don't...it's up to you. Just be careful where you go and who you choose to trust- the world of Eschalon can be a deadly place for an inexperienced adventurer.

An epic adventure that you must face alone...a single-player RPG carefully designed to feel like the great old school RPGs of the past such as Ultima, Might & Magic, and Wizardry.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.5.8Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
CPU TypeUniversal
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed1.8 GHz
System RAM256 MB
Drive SpaceUnknown
Video RAMAny
Video CardAny

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

3.6
From 60 Shoppers
5
 
20
4
 
15
3
 
12
2
 
9
1
 
4

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Nice game
    by orne, Portugal - Dec 24th 2015

    Excellent game game particularly if you consider its price, it has some similarities with Spiderweb's games so if you like those you'll like this.

    The storyline is a bit simpler though and also more linear, there are some "grinding things" which I don't entirely like, for example you have to take off your weapon off to switch to magic, I understand the point but it gets tireing having to do those extra clicks every time you want to switch between them. A tutorial for those starting out would also be useful.

    On the plus side, the game engine is well thought out and somewhat complex which create the possibility of using different tactics and attribute mixes. Another positive is that it runs pretty well on old machinery and it doesn't look all that bad overall.

    Overall the positives outweight the negatives and I can easily recommend it to people who like this kind of game.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. The rpg legend
    by harry Olden, United Kingdom - Sep 1st 2015

    This is an rpg legend fantastic monsters and items great battle sistem and an epic quest

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. A fantastic role playing game...
    by Justin Ancheta, Canada - Jun 7th 2015

    For anyone who either misses the classic isometric RPGs of old, or is a fan of the formula set by Spiderweb Software's games, the Eschalon series of games are a fantastic purchase. I found Book 1 somewhat harder than Avernum, and you will have to keep closer tabs on the player's condition (e.g. hunger), but these shouldn't deter anyone from trying this amazing series.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. The bomb
    by kris skovmand1, United Kingdom - Jul 28th 2014

    This is the game guys. immersive rpg experience. roll up your socks. fall in love with this little world and its great graphics. it's leveling up system is great and if you make bad choices you will lose.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Simple game, enjoyable
    by Valentina Pagliai, USA - Jun 2nd 2014

    I enjoyed playing this game although there are no stunning graphics or anything particularly sophisticated about it. As a strategy game, I liked that it has a lot of flexibility and you can really explore several ways of engaging in battles. There is also an interesting storyline that connects most of the quests and moves the game forward. One thing I like a lot about this game is its very lively community of fans. They are ready to help and in many ways they make you like the game more. So if you do buy this, I suggest you take time to meet the community (at The Drunken Lizard Pub). A minus for me was that I could not play as female (this is resolved in Eschalon 2, by the way). However, the storyline is really gender-neutral and so what I did was to simply add a female avatar (you can upload your own, which is nice) and give the character a female name - it worked fine for me. I played this on OS Lion and encountered no bug.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Great old school RPG game
    by The Count, Italy - Apr 15th 2014

    Absolutely recommended to fans of RPG Avernum style. The graphics are excellent and the atmosphere is made effectively by background music.The plot is engaging and there is a lot to explore. The price is definitely good. Buy it!

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Addictive, simple, achieving, interesting, and much more!
    by sckolar, USA - Mar 9th 2014

    Alright, if you can look past the simple graphics, and mechanics, this is a fun game! Reading is important, and storyline is important, so do not just click the "next" button, because that is where the meat of the game is!

    The only way to get the full experience of this game is by exploring everything, and reading books, as well as dialogue. You feel like an adventurer. Not quite like a hero (in my experience) but like a traveler. Walking from town to town, fighting monsters in a quest to discover your own true identity!

    But to make the review a bit shorter, the snapshots are pretty honest of the game! It's a good game for when you say to yourself "I just want adventure… an RPG"

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Excellent gamer for old school RPG fans!
    by Optimus Prime, USA - Sep 5th 2013

    If you grew up to games like Ultima III and games of that genre, you will feel at home with this game. It is turn based and you only control one person- your altered ego in this game in the character you create. The game has time and it will switch from day to noon to night. You get the option to camp and rest. Surviving a battle is based on your tactics and choices you make. Leveling up takes a little effort, as long as you survive battels and heal, you will be ok. At the beginning of the game, i fought wild animals and i like to stay near the well to drink water to heal. Avoid travelling during nite time if you are a beginner and camp and rest until daytime for safety reasons.

    If you like the Spiderweb RPG games like in Avernum series, you will love this game.

    The graphics are pretty good, and the music adds to the atmosphere of the game. For $6.95- this game is a game value.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Awesome RPG
    by Meerkatjes, Netherlands - Jul 8th 2013

    Eschalon is really old time RPG at its best. Turn-based, old school graphics, but a great storyline and quests. This is how RPG should be. Don't forget to check out Book II as well, just as much worth it!

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Lazy day game play
    by Viki Tindle, USA - Oct 10th 2012

    If you have time to play this game, it is fun with the battles and the treasure finds.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Great gameplay, but please update to the latest version
    by springacres, USA - Mar 5th 2012

    Game was fine for the first couple of days I played it, then white triangular patches started randomly appearing instead of graphics. I mentioned this on the manufacturer's tech support board and was told that the latest version should be 1.06 which supposedly fixes that. Redownloading through Mac Games Arcade just gives me 1.05 which is the version with the bugs.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. I've been looking for something like this for years
    by Sarah Bolmarcich, USA - Jul 30th 2011

    Since the Wizardry franchise (apparently) ended, I've been looking for another old-school RPG. I almost passed this one up because it was solo, and I prefer parties, but I was wrong: solo really works in Eschalon. Beautiful graphics, good plots and quests, engaging if you want to do more than kill things. Give it a try!

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Nice
    by RickC, - Feb 15th 2011

    Real nice RPG. I actually like the older styled graphics. The plot is good. It seemed a little buggy at first, but the company always seems to come through with patches. I wish it was longer!

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Could be so much more
    by Shaitan, USA - Oct 9th 2010

    The game really needs scalable graphics, or at least some screen resolution options as it's microscopic on my screen and blowing it up just blurs it out. If this was the early 1990s it'd hold up against the Ultima series...but it doesn't.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. Great Game
    by Stephen Rinehart, Germany - Apr 3rd 2009

    I enjoyed playing Eschalon: Book 1 and I cant wait to play Book 2.

    The graphics are a bit outdated but the gameplay is great. It is turn based and it can become fast once you get used to it. One aspect of the game that I personally enjoy are the puzzles. You dont find them that often anymore in RPGs. The replay value is high if you enjoy different character builds however everything else stays the same. First time around, I only spent 15.5 hours before completing nearly 100% of all the available quests.

    Unfortunatly I can only give it 3 stars because "Book 1" is way too short for its price.

    284 out of 550 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Basilick Games

Currency