Hearts of Iron IV: Waking the TigerRequires Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet Edition to play.

Hearts of Iron IV: Waking the Tiger Badge
Waking the Tiger is the newest expansion for Paradox Development Studio’s celebrated World War II strategy wargame, Hearts of Iron IV.

Purchase DLC

$16.35$19.99 SAVE 18%

Media

Description

Years before Europe went to war, Japan’s imperial ambitions targeted the divided Chinese Republic. Crippled by political paralysis and centuries of fitful development, China is still not a pushover. With vast reserves of manpower and resources, not to mention a giant landmass, the Republic of China and its temporary ally, the Communists under Mao, can withstand another aggressor. There have been, after all, very many.

Waking the Tiger is the newest expansion for Paradox Development Studio’s celebrated World War II strategy wargame, Hearts of Iron IV. This expansion adds new gameplay options for all players, and has a special focus on the Asian front of the deadliest war in human history.
  • National Focus Trees for China: Guide the Chinese Republic or Communist China through the war, guided by your own vision of the future.
  • Modified Focus Trees for Germany and Japan: Two major Axis powers now have alternate history paths, including the chance to depose Hitler or restore democracy to Japan.
  • Chain of Command and General Traits: Put multiple armies under the direction of a field marshall to coordinate large movements of army groups, using the traits of your generals to take advantage of their unique skills.
  • Decisions: Spend your political power on national decisions and missions to strengthen the war effort.
  • And more: Scavenge equipment from the battlefield, use Volunteer Air Corps, acclimatizing troops, and other changes.
Paradox Interactive, HEARTS OF IRON® Copyright© [2016] Paradox Interactive AB All rights reserved.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.10Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
64bit SupportUnknown
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed2.6 GHz
System RAM4 GB
Drive Space2 GB
Video RAMAny
Video CardAny
Important Notes:
  • Requires Hearts of Iron IV: Cadet Edition to play.
  • Requires Steam and a Steam Account to play.
  • Mouse and keyboard are required. Latest available proprietary drivers /Internet Connection or LAN for multiplayer, Up to 32 other players in multiplayer mode.

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.4
From 18 Shoppers
5
 
12
4
 
2
3
 
4
2
 
0
1
 
0

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. The east
    by wander00, Australia - Dec 7th 2018

    An excellent dlc, adds a new China tree to expand on the east

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. China
    by storp, Sweden - Nov 29th 2018

    Adds a lot more stuff for various kinds of China playthroughs, but I'd say the most fun part of the DLC is the new focus tree for Germany.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Quality DLC
    by Yann C., France - Aug 30th 2018

    If you want to experience World War II with Japan, this dlc is really necessary for a complete experience. Otherwise, you can go your way

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Great DLC
    by Jordan H.15, USA - Aug 6th 2018

    An excellent dlc, possibly the best one so far, I especially like the new China tree

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Great expansion- but get it on a sale.
    by Air H., Latvia - Jul 5th 2018

    This expansion gives you the ability to modify general traits, which is really important in my experience. There are other smaller features added, otherwise it is mainly focuses trees for China and modified alt-history focus trees for Japan and Germany- and especially for Germany, the alt-history focus tree is a lot of fun, and playing in China is also fun, though before the newest update (1.5.4) it was plagued by some big problems but it should be fine now. I'd recommend this expansion to anyone interested in the Asian region and even if not then- for Germany alt-focus tree and general traits.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Great DLC, especially on sale
    by Dubbs09, USA - Apr 26th 2018

    Really adds to the game, especially if you want to play in Asia or have alt-history for Japan and Germany (BRING BACK THE KEISER!!). Easy purchase if you want to try a very, very different way of playing Germany and disposing hitler.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Hearts of Iron IV at it's finest
    by Gianpietro U., Italy - Apr 13th 2018

    Restore the Kaiser Reich? Play whit sexy Mao and fight jap? Or you wonna try to reclaim China to the Quing dinasty? This is Waking the Tiger!

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Another overpriced DLC/Paywall
    by Kaiser-e-rum, USA - Apr 12th 2018

    Some of these features should be included in the patch, this is a very poor DLC model, only buy this on sale or if someone gifts it to you.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Excellent
    by J O.3, Estonia - Mar 26th 2018

    The focus trees are a bit less exciting this time, but the new mechanics are excellent.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. It's ok if you get a decent promotion...
    by Migol, Poland - Mar 21st 2018

    In general - if you are not interested in playing around eastern asian area, just don't buy it. Or wait for a good price. For the stock price of 20$, this is a bit too little for the money and well, you can live without it. Especially since half of the features you get for free as a version bump.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Spice
    by Lexkun, Germany - Mar 18th 2018

    This expansion will spice things up a bit and even gives me a good reason to play as China.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Rule ASIA
    by dorugradinaru, Romania - Mar 17th 2018

    So I tried playing as Japan and became a constitional monarchy and even joined the Allies. This became one of the strangest vanilla Heart of Iron IV experiences I've ever had. When I went democratic I pretty most lost my entire navy as the facist and my forces fought a violent civil war. I guess it's not a huge loss since I have the British Empire as an ally. While that was happening a random rebellion breaks out in the Soviet Union. I find my army fighting Hungarians and Croatians in the Balkans while the rest of my army fights the Germans in France. Things were going well until Italy joined the Axis and we have no sign of US help for a while because world tension was below 70%.

    In other words I had no idea how this was going to turn out or what would happen next which made this one of the best experiences I've had in HOI IV.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. HoI4's Great Leap Forward
    by Andres Sanchez, Spain - Mar 15th 2018

    Waking the Tiger is the best expansion for HoI4 (so far), and in a similar way like others (Stellaris' Utopia) it basically deepens the new features added in the free patch. Esencially, more decisions and commanders management (more options for traits and special actions). It also includes new national focuses for Chinese actors and Japan (which improve dramatically a WWII theatre which was not working well in former iterations, like Sino-Japanese war). It also includes some alternative history options for Germany, which are fun to play. In conclusion, Waking the Tiger is a great leap forward -pun intentended ;)- for Hearts of Iron 4.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Definitely the best DLC for HOI4 yet
    by Swampos, Czech Republic - Mar 10th 2018

    This adds so much to the game, many essential improvements came with the free patch. Adds alternative focus trees and new mechanics to the base game.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. New Expansion
    by Craig S.8, USA - Mar 10th 2018

    Update adds more stuff to the pacific region and some to europe. Free updates with it was nice for combat too.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Paradox Interactive

Currency