Cities: Skylines

Cities: Skylines Badge
Cities: Skylines is a modern take on the classic city simulation. The game introduces new game play elements to realize the thrill and hardships of creating and maintaining a real city.

Purchase
Sale

$7.49$29.99 SAVE 75%

Media

Description

  • Simulation  
  • Paradox Interactive
  • 3/10/2015
  • English, French, German, Spanish, Polish, Portuguese, Russian
  • Single-player
Cities: Skylines is a modern take on the classic city simulation. The game introduces new game play elements to realize the thrill and hardships of creating and maintaining a real city whilst expanding on some well-established tropes of the city building experience.

From the makers of the Cities in Motion franchise, the game boasts a fully realized transport system. It also includes the ability to mod the game to suit your play style as a fine counter balance to the layered and challenging simulation. You’re only limited by your imagination, so take control and reach for the sky!
  • Multi-tiered and challenging simulation: Constructing your city from the ground up is easy to learn, but hard to master. Playing as the mayor of your city you’ll be faced with balancing essential requirements such as education, water electricity, police, fire fighting, healthcare and much more along with your citys real economy system. Citizens within your city react fluidly, with gravitas and with an air of authenticity to a multitude of game play scenarios.
  • Extensive local traffic simulation: Colossal Orders extensive experience developing the Cities in Motion series is fully utilized in a fully fleshed out and well-crafted transport systems.
  • Districts and Policies: Be more than just an administrator from city hall. Designating parts of your city as a district results in the application of policies which results in you rising to the status of Mayor for your own city.
  • Extensive modding support: Build or improve on existing maps and structures. You can then import them into the game, share them as well as download the creations of other city builders on the Steam workshop.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.9Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU Cores2
CPU Speed3 GHz
System RAM4 GB
Drive Space4 GB
Video RAM512 MB
Video (ati)ATI Radeon HD 5670 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: ATI Radeon X1300, ATI Radeon X1600, ATI Radeon X1900 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro, ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT, ATI Radeon HD 4670, ATI Radeon HD 4850, ATI Radeon HD 4870
Video (nvidia)NVIDIA GeForce 320M *
* Unsupported Video Cards: NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500, NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600, NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300, NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, NVIDIA GeForce 9400, NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT, NVIDIA GeForce GT 120, NVIDIA GeForce GT 130
Video (intel)Not Supported
Important Notes:
  • Requires Steam and a Steam Account to play.

Downloadable Content For This Game (DLC)

DLCCities: Skylines After DarkReleased 9/24/2015$14.99$7.49
DLCCities: Skylines SnowfallReleased 2/18/2016$12.99$6.49
DLCCities: Skylines - Content Creator Pack: Art DecoReleased 9/13/2016$4.99$2.49
DLCCities: Skylines - Natural DisastersReleased 11/29/2016$14.99$7.49
DLCCities: Skylines - Content Creator Pack: High-Tech BuildingsReleased 11/29/2016$4.99$2.49
DLCCities: Skylines - Relaxation StationReleased 11/29/2016$3.99$1.99
DLCCities: Skylines - Mass TransitReleased 5/18/2017$12.99$6.49
DLCCities: Skylines - Rock City RadioReleased 5/18/2017$3.99$1.99
DLCCities: Skylines - ConcertsReleased 8/17/2017$6.99$5.24
DLCCities: Skylines - Green CitiesReleased 10/19/2017$12.99$10.39
DLCCities: Skylines - European Suburbia: Content Creator PackReleased 10/25/2017$4.99$4.49
DLCCities: Skylines - All That JazzReleased 12/5/2017$3.99$3.59

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.6
From 56 Shoppers
5
 
39
4
 
12
3
 
3
2
 
2
1
 
0

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Great Game - Poor Performance
    by Logan R.2, USA - Nov 29th 2017

    While the game is great and has plenty of features, on a high end MacBook, it struggles. There is always stuttering and a high demand for the CPU. I feel this could all easily be fixed, but it hasn't been. I'm holding out on the hope that they fix these issues in the future.

    4 out of 9 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Best City Simulation out there
    by RalphS84, Germany - Nov 17th 2017

    This is absolutly the best City Simulation I've ever played.
    Great game with lot's of possibilities for city creation.
    Some DLC features could already be in the base game (e.g. Natural Disasters). But this is ok.
    Definetly worth buying!

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. On sale, couldn't turn it down.
    by John H.5974, USA - Nov 12th 2017

    This game is a lot of fun. I am glad it was on sale.

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Great City Builder
    by John E.10, USA - Oct 14th 2017

    I had not played this since before the first DLC and I played without any mods, so to come back to the great updates that came without even purchasing the DLC, I was very pleasantly surprised.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. A Wonderful Game
    by Porthos40, USA - Sep 10th 2017

    I love this game. The graphics are wonderful to look at, sound designer did a great job with atmosphere. This game ran like butter on my Mac Pro 2.8ghz Quad Core(2010) with Radeon 7950 3GB.I highly recommend this for a city builder.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Fun, but a bit easy
    by Anthony G.9, Canada - Sep 4th 2017

    This is a great game, the graphics are great and it definitely scratches the creation itch you might have. That being said I feel the game doesn't have a lot in the way of a challenge. I'm by no means a great city creator, but my city is thriving and I haven't put much thought into it to be honest. It's my first trial by fire run and I'm killing it...kind of takes away my motivation to start a new city. All that being said, there are a ton of micromanagement options for those who like delving deep so it has potential to eat up your life. Fun game but be weary of the longevity if you're a casual. 8.5/10

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Best Game
    by Gianmarco V., Italy - Aug 22nd 2017

    Cities: Skylines is simply put one of the greatest city building sims ever created and also one of the most addictive games

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Great
    by Bob S.11, USA - Aug 13th 2017

    Would Recommend, has great and interesting gameplay. Great graphics as well.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Intense, time consuming and hours of fun
    by Dedra P., USA - Jul 16th 2017

    As a mac owner I got used to not computer gaming, but I was fine with that. I didn't buy a Mac to game on it. But every now and then it was nice when a pretty well known or very entertaining game was ported over for us to enjoy.

    CS is for those who not only love Simulation games, but like thoughtful and mind engaging games. You are building a city from the ground up and it can go sideways very quickly. I love this game. It is hours of fun and really pulls you into thinking about city planning, city life, landscaping, creation and organization. But yes, it's also fun. It gets tedious because you are not just "playing a game" you are contemplating pipelines, subway routes, traffic control, land fill placement and power outages. That is not fun for a lot of people.

    If you played SimCity or even to a lesser degree, games like The Sims, Zoo Tycoon, Roller Coaster Tycoon or games like that, you are familar with building and creating realistic living environments for those in your games. This is on a more larger scale, but for the right gamer, they will love it. And Thank God for Youtube and tutorials—AND MODS!!

    As for running the game itself—I'm on a Mac, OS 10.9.5 8GB and 500g HD, Intel Core i5. They said you can't play it if your computer has Intel graphics, but I was able to install and play. I know everyone may not be able to do that, but I also am not trying to push the game past what I don't think my computer can do. I have all graphics set to low and the game still looks great, I also disabled a couple things in the graphics setting, set distance viewing to 'very short' I don't have the nighttime view on and no extras like the "mass transit, natural disasters' etc. Basically, I am not missing those and could care less about a hurricane popping up. I would like to see my city at night but am skeptical.

    I did that because I wanted to put in 2, maybe 3 essential mods, but no more than that, and I didn't want to push my luck. I doubt I will be able to play well or at all when my city really grows, but I'm the type of person that is happy just being able to play it all. I decided to buy it during the sale of $6.88 because if it didn't work I was only out $7 instead of $30 or $60. If you have a high end, brand new computer running Intel graphics, I say still go for it. Especially if you have 8Gb of ram or higher, it should be fine. If you have the specs I have, just go easy and don't start dumping every DLC they have into it. Do you really need blimps and a tornado? The base game and maybe a couple key mods is all you need.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Great Visuals and Gameplay
    by Sean K.5, USA - May 27th 2017

    This is a really great looking game that can be very cinematic and the strategy and the difficulty of the game are engaging and fun.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. The Good & Bad
    by dfox2014, USA - Dec 13th 2016

    Giving the good first, this game is everything SimCity wasn't. Not the old classic SimCity but the newer attempt at it. This game has an amazing Steam community and a constantly growing DLC market for official and community releases. I can't express how much fun I have with this game. It never gets old, and is ENDLESSLY replayable.
    The bad however ruined it for me... for now. I have a mid-2012 MacBook Pro and although I understand the age factor and the fact that I own a laptop (a fully suited up one though) this game still drags in performance, consumes all of my computers resources, and runs a very spotty fps.
    But on a more dedicated machine, this game is one of the best you can buy.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Build it and they will come
    by andregurov, USA - Nov 27th 2016

    Talk about a time sink! You can build anything from fantasy worlds to a recreation of your hometown, and then unleash hell upon it just for giggles. A near-perfect game that you can actively shape in the direction you want to go in.

    6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Great
    by Bebeto, Romania - Nov 26th 2016

    Absolutely recommended, excellent graphics, deep managing, awesome day/night landscapes, almost endless opportunities, the greatest managing/city builder/simulation game i've ever played.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Great city builder!
    by Prah, Sweden - Oct 9th 2016

    This game is a really good city builder. If you enjoyed SimCity, you will love this!

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. Fantastic!
    by Jkr013, Greece - Sep 21st 2016

    Simply the best city building sim available to mankind :)

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Paradox Interactive

Currency