This War of Mine

This War of Mine Badge
In This War Of Mine you do not play as an elite soldier, rather a group of civilians trying to survive in a besieged city.

Purchase

$19.99 

Media

Description

  • Adventure  Indie  
  • 11 Bit Studios
  • 11/20/2014
  • 2.2.2
  • English, French, German, Italian, Polish, Russian
In This War Of Mine you do not play as an elite soldier, rather a group of civilians trying to survive in a besieged city; struggling with lack of food, medicine and constant danger from snipers and hostile scavengers. The game provides an experience of war seen from an entirely new angle.

The pace of This War of Mine is imposed by the day and night cycle. During the day snipers outside stop you from leaving your refuge, so you need to focus on maintaining your hideout: crafting, trading and taking care of your survivors. At night, take one of your civilians on a mission to scavenge through a set of unique locations for items that will help you stay alive.

Make life-and-death decisions driven by your conscience. Try to protect everybody from your shelter or sacrifice some of them for longer-term survival. During war, there are no good or bad decisions; there is only survival. The sooner you realize that, the better.
  • Inspired by real-life events
  • Control your survivors and manage your shelter
  • Craft weapons, alcohol, beds or stoves – anything that helps you survive
  • Make decisions - an often unforgiving and emotionally difficult experience
  • Randomized world and characters every time you start a new game
  • Charcoal-stylized aesthetics to complement the game's theme

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.7Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
64bit SupportYes
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU Cores2
CPU Speed2.4 GHz
System RAM2 GB
Drive SpaceUnknown
Video RAM512 MB
Video (ati)ATI Radeon HD 4670 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: ATI Radeon X1300, ATI Radeon X1600, ATI Radeon X1900 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro, ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
Video (nvidia)NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT *
* Unsupported Video Cards: NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500, NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600, NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300, NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, NVIDIA GeForce 9400
Video (intel)Intel HD Graphics 4000 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: Intel GMA 900, Intel GMA 950, Intel GMA X3100, Intel HD Graphics, Intel HD Graphics 3000
Important Notes:
  • Optional Steam Key provided with purchase. Not required.

Downloadable Content For This Game (DLC)

DLCThis War of Mine - The Little Ones DLCReleased 6/29/2016$9.99
DLCThis War of Mine: Stories - Father's PromiseReleased 11/14/2017$1.99

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.5
From 76 Shoppers
5
 
55
4
 
11
3
 
5
2
 
4
1
 
1

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. WAR.. WAR NEVER CHANGES
    by Awesomegamer, USA - Aug 24th 2015

    Was good the first couple of hours but it does get repetitive.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Very good Game!
    by Tintifax, Austria - Aug 1st 2015

    Fascinating Game with deep sensual moments - be good and help or be bad and let die...
    Surviving is the goal - although its sad to see others die through war :-(

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Fantastic
    by Panagiotis Papadimitrioy, Greece - Jul 22nd 2015

    Addicted Game... Its fantastic!!!!!! Very good Work.
    I've never play something like that!!

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. A fealing game
    by conelho, Portugal - Jul 19th 2015

    A sad game, any day you survide is a joy

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Somewhat Repetitive & Boring
    by SUMA1959, USA - Jul 11th 2015

    I'm trying to like this game, but being a 2.5D game just doesn't work in this game for me. If this were a 3D game with full exploration, it would work much better.

    Right now, it is so repetitive, almost to the point of being boring for me. I'm sure some other people will enjoy this type of game play. I'll keep trying, but I am so glad I didn't pay full price for this game! It's getting great reviews everywhere. It just seems like you're doing the same thing, over and over...

    I see Mac Game Store finally changed the system requirements to OS X 10.7. Good Job!

    Note: This game works fine running OS X 10.6.8 on Steam (for now).

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. A touching, moving and very real game
    by Andrewyeah, United Kingdom - Jul 6th 2015

    Its more of a simulation and education than a game and thats a very good thing!

    The tension, despair and uncertainty this game creates is astounding.
    You care about the band of unfortunate people your trying to keep alive.
    Your decisions have an impact on them and others in the game and it really feels like life & death

    Artistically and musically this game is spot on
    Gameplay also wonderful for the genre
    above all its challenging as such a game should be

    Couldnt recommend more
    Buy it

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Compelling and Provocative
    by Koka Kliora, USA - Jun 3rd 2015

    Chilling music, complex characters, I don't want to quit the game. "Write your own story" adds a nice touch. Endless choices for customizations. The choices you have to make are chilling. I find myself thinking about the characters throughout the day.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Victims of War
    by Elias Chapelle, USA - Jan 2nd 2015

    'This War of Mine' is not really a game but a simulation of survival - what it is like to be the victim of warfare. Loosely based on the war in Bosnia you play 3 male characters struggling to survive in a war-torn urban landscape. You must contend with hunger, injury, sleep deprivation and death I don't know if a character ever wins because the odds of your survival are definitely slim and I've never reached a satisfactory conclusion. The game is drawn in bleak atmospheric black, grey, and white shadows and the destroyed city landscape is bleak. The characters are silhouettes that are often in shadow and dimly lit. 'This War of Mind' is an eye-opening experience for those used to games such as 'Call of Duty' and other shooters like it. Here you play the victim caught between deadly forces. Your character must daily choose between difficult moral choices in order to survive. The player must often make choices of life and death, your life and well as others. There are no correct decisions and every decision has a consequence. You eventually end up realizing that you never had real good choices in the first place.

    As grim as real war, this simulation will be an eye-opener for those who have never experienced it. The developers wisely limited the reality of warfare in order to make the game playable without turning users away. It is clear that the underlining message is that warfare has many many victims but some victims are missing from gameplay. Other real victims of war such as women and children are not in the game. Adding this reality or war victimhood would probably have been too much for players to take.

    The game has 2 major problems which, when fixed, will make this a 5 star game. The first problem is that the darkness of the screen and size of the text makes the game difficult to play on a small screen. My 13" MacBook screen was almost too small to play it on. My much larger iMac would have been ideal but I could not play it on my older iMac because there was not enough graphic RAM. This problem was not disclosed on all potential purchase sites. There is supposed to be a fix for this problem with the release of version 1.2 but that version is not available via the Mac App Store (version 1.02), version numbers are not given on the Mac Game Store, and the Mac Steam version is 1.22.

    'This War of Mine' is highly recommended. But be careful of graphic requirements. My original purchase of this game was from the Mac App Store.

    7 out of 10 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Extremely well done; A+++++
    by Kiah Beeman, USA - Dec 5th 2014

    This game is fantastic. It tells a compelling story and you get involved in it. It also has great replayability! The map completely changes with each play. For example, on my first play there was an amzing "market" area where I could go to trade with others and that was mainly how I survived. In my second play, it was called "Sniper Street" because a sniper shot anyone who walked by. I arrived back at "home" almost dead! My only complaint is that you can't upgrade what people can carry.

    4 out of 5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Surprisingly good game
    by PACKATK, USA - Dec 2nd 2014

    I don't think I can add anything that the other reviewers have already said. Very well done game. As the game has progressed I've found I get attached to the people I am trying to help survive.

    Here's some examples. Trying to pick which of my starving survivors gets to loose another nights sleep to search for food… then come up empty handed because I either chose the wrong place or I got chased off by other scavengers… it really puts this game on another level. Then, with what ever supplies I did scrounge up, having to choose what to make to improve my little crews lives can end up being life and death choices. God forbid if someone gets sick or injured, meds and bandages are a pain to find or trade for.

    Really well thought out game, really well made (not one glitch or crash or random weird issue… awesome for an independent). I hope to see more from this developer. Buy it and play it… you won't regret it.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Not what I was expecting - it's better!
    by Smee, Australia - Nov 25th 2014

    I was expecting another run of the mill war/zombie first person shooter when I saw this game, but was surprised to find a much more cerebral strategy game, with minimal violence, and great graphics. Another indie gem.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Very interesting style of game
    by mikker, United Kingdom - Nov 23rd 2014

    Could do with the ability to save before a mission so that you can try different styles of aggression/non aggression without restarting from scratch.

    Dead is dead for real.

    I liked the presentation and interface. could do with more interaction when need to fight.
    good game. I hope to see more of this style!

    7 out of 8 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By 11 Bit Studios

Currency