Lifeless Planet Premier Edition

Lifeless Planet Premier Edition Badge
While seeking life on a distant planet, an astronaut discovers an abandoned Russian town.

Purchase

$19.99 

Media

Description

  • Adventure  Indie  
  • KISS
  • 8/5/2015
  • 1.5
  • English
While seeking life on a distant planet, an astronaut discovers an abandoned Russian town. He suspects his mission is a hoax until a mysterious young woman saves him from a strange and deadly phenomenon... Lifeless Planet is a third-person action-adventure that features an old-school sci-fi story and spectacular environments in the spirit of classic action-adventures.

After a hard landing on the planet, the astronaut discovers the planet that was reported to be rich with life is instead a barren wasteland. When he goes searching for his crew, he makes a more startling discovery: evidence that humans have already been to this planet years ago! When he comes upon a deserted Soviet-era Russian town, he struggles to make sense of his mission. Did his light-speed travel to the planet send him back in time? Or is this all some strange Cold War hoax?

Along the way, the astronaut meets a Russian woman, Aelita, who is somehow able to survive the hostile atmosphere of the planet. Through an unusual natural phenomenon, her skin causes the soil to glow green under her feet. The player must use these glowing tracks as a guide across the planet past treacherous and deadly threats. Is she leading him to safety... or an untimely death?

Lifeless Planet was inspired by Cold War era science fiction stories, posing questions about humankind's desire for space travel. What if you journeyed across the galaxy to another planet, only to find humans had already been there? What kind of person would sign up for a one-way mission, leaving behind planet Earth and everyone they've ever known and love... to go in search of an Earth-like planet?

Equipped with a limited-use jet-pack and a mobile robotic arm, the player must use wits and skill to solve puzzles, unravel the mystery, and survive the Lifeless Planet!

The Premier Edition includes new original music from acclaimed Lifeless Planet composer Rich Douglass. In addition, there's also a number of visual upgrades throughout, most notably the addition of normal-mapped terrains. The game also contains previously unreleased content in the form of new audio and text logs. The Premier Edition includes additional new Russian language voice acting, adding further richness to the already immersive experience.
  • Explore 20 unique and atmospheric environments on a vast and treacherous planet.
  • Follow a mysterious young woman as she guides you past dangerous terrain and deadly life-forms.
  • Investigate the startling discovery of an abandoned Russian town.
  • Experience an exciting and intriguing story through rich graphics and cinematic cut-scenes.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.7Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU Cores2
CPU Speed2 GHz
System RAM1.5 GB
Drive Space900 MB
Video RAMAny
Video CardAny
Important Notes:
  • Optional Steam Key provided with purchase. Not required.

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.2
From 28 Shoppers
5
 
15
4
 
7
3
 
4
2
 
1
1
 
1

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Intersting concept
    by Alecat, Canada - Sep 5th 2016

    Lots of hard jumping good story line but i was expecting more things and a bit more freedom

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Interesting SciFi-Horror
    by AshesnBones, USA - Aug 21st 2016

    This is primarily an exploration/platforming game.. not really a 'walking sim' though the path you are set on is very linear. The premise is standard scifi lore.. you travel to Mars where there's supposedly some type of terraformed settlement awaiting you, but you wake up to find yourself crashed in a wasteland with your crewmates missing. Its a lonely trek to find out what happened on this planet, but the atmosphere, mystery, and interesting level designs drew me in. The platforming is questionable, and the controls are a little wonky, but overall its a worthwhile experience.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Great Exploration Game
    by MoogleMan3, USA - Jun 22nd 2016

    When I played through Lifeless Planet, it reminded me a lot of games that tell their story without much in the way of dialogue or cutscenes. Yet the story it delivers is very engrossing and it kept me playing to see how the next chapter unfolds. This kept up right up to the end, yet I still wanted more. A sequel picking up after the somewhat cliffhanger, yet satisfying ending would be amazing.

    Gameplay is simple; you mainly explore by way of 3d platforming and some light puzzle solving. It never feels clunky or unresponsive.

    The game is a lot longer than I anticipated when I started playing, thinking it would last a few hours at best, but it didn't feel too long. It felt just right.

    I was very pleased with this game and hope for a sequel.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Engrossing...
    by Basil Karas, USA - Feb 26th 2016

    I was hooked by the premise...i'm a sucker for secret soviet projects in the 1960's and 1970s. The graphics are great and the storyline lets you have just the right amount of info to keep it interesting. For an adventure/puzzle game thats not fully open world, the devs have really done a great job, I'm still in the middle of the game, taking my time to explore. I havent bought a game for a few years but I'm glad i picked this up. It can be finished in likely as little as 10-12 hours but easily rewards players who want to take their time to really inhabit the in- game world...and at this price, its' a real bargain. I highly recommend picking this up - you won't be disappointed!

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Enjoyable
    by Louise Hopper, USA - Jan 9th 2016

    Lots of fun, long game. Nice environments. I liked this game a lot.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. I really enjoyed it!
    by Todd Winkle, USA - Jan 4th 2016

    Understand ONE THING.......THIS IS NOT A GAME! Its a story. And if you purchase it knowing that, you will enjoy it. I checked out a few video review before I purchased, and even they had mentioned it being more of a story than a game. It was also on sale at the time I purchased for $5 if memory serves.....cheap entertainment for something I will use over again.

    Graphics and landscape are very good. Story line is ok to good, but its the adventure that really drew me in. I do recomend you read the text as you proceed, it will make more sense, and there isnt that much. I did have to look up 2 diffrent spots to find out what to do through a video walkthrough, but all in all this is not a difficult story to complete. It took me a couple evening. There is nothing intense to really speak of. No monsters to combat or kill.

    Im sure I will go through this story 1-2 times a year.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Atmosphärischer Laufsimulator mit Hüpfeinlagen
    by Schulle, Germany - Aug 21st 2015

    Wie in den anderen Rezensionen bereits angemerkt kann man dieses Spiel durchaus als Laufsimulator bezeichnen. Man läuft eigentlich nur über die Planetenoberfläche, findet Aufzeichnungen und erfährt so nach und nach, was geschehen ist. Die Rätsel sind durchweg einfach. Die Steuerung gelungen. Die Grafik entspricht nicht dem aktuellsten Stand ist aber dennoch sehr nett anzusehen und schafft zusammen mit der gelungenen Hintergrundmusik und der guten Geschichte eine Atmosphäre, die einen in den Bann zieht. Ich habe das Spiel unterbrochen um schlafen zu gehen und konnte es am nächsten Tag kaum erwarten weiterzuspielen.
    Einziger Wermutstropfen in diesem Spiel sind die teilweise doch recht nervigen Hüpfeinlagen, insbesondere jene im Dunkeln, wo kaum etwas zu erkennen ist.

    Ohne Probleme mit folgender Konfiguration gespielt: iMac Late 2013, core i5, 16GB RAM, nvidia GTX780 4GB, OS X 10.10.5

    [As noted in other reviews, you can this game be described as running simulator. It runs really only over the planet surface, takes notes and learn so little by little, what has happened. The puzzles are all simple. The control succeeded. The graph does not match the current state but is still very nice to look at and creates, together with the successful background music and the good story an atmosphere that draws one into the spell. I interrupted the game to go to sleep and the next day it could hardly be expected to continue playing.
    The only drawback in this game are the partly quite annoying Hupfeinlangen, especially those in the dark, where hardly anything can be recognized.

    Without problems with the following configuration played: iMac Late 2013 Core i5, 16GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX780 4GB, OS X 10.10.5]

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Not more than OKAY
    by bot, Switzerland - Aug 10th 2015

    The good thing about it first: you immediately get into the athmosphere of game, you are wondering „what the hell is going on here?". but after a while the missions get a bit repeptitive and I would have wished for a bit more story in the game. the „jumping" around get's a bit repetitive, too.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Space promenade
    by Hermit64, Spain - Aug 2nd 2015

    This is a game of the kind "I can't stop playing, I need to see more". You are immersed in the story at the very moment it starts. Why? Well, it's its atmosphere, the slow and steady cadence of events taking place, the feeling of discovery as you progress. I can say it contains some of the most beautiful moments I have experienced in a game. Problem: you will need a very fast machine to run its graphics smoothly in "fantastic mode". Even if you don't have such, playing it is a real pleasure. Completely worthy.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Real nice
    by Benoit Beauregard, Canada - Jul 5th 2015

    Great graphics, fun to play... love it. The update fixed the bugs.... tx

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Excellent game with a few issues
    by Strongblade, Canada - Jul 4th 2015

    I found this game quite engaging and interesting. The jumping puzzles, for the most part, weren't too difficult. I did run into the space bar jump death once, but restarting the game fixed that. Otherwise I did have issue with the dark areas (and the lava section, which was dark with black everywhere) making it hard to figure out where to go and what to do. But beyond those small issues, it was well worth the investment.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Some issue to fix
    by VLOCT, Canada - Mar 12th 2015

    It's a good game but you need to fix saving process issue. When you save to a checkpoint and you die, the game load with issue, sometimes there's missing content like the caracter. Also, if you press on « space bar » to jump after you died accidently, you automatically die by pressing on « space bar ». Thumbs up for the original story.

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Beautiful, challenging and compelling game
    by Unclejace237, USA - Jul 22nd 2014

    This is one of the best games I have played. Great art, compelling story and challenging gameplay. Most importantly, it retains one's interest without the use of violence (short of your astronaut jumping off a cliff) as with so many games today. The only negative comment I have is the saved games are by default hidden by the OS. They are also placed in the cache folder which TimeMachine does not backup. Hopefully that will be corrected at some point.

    5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Disappointment
    by NorthernSpruce, Canada - Jul 9th 2014

    Much of the game is quite impressive - nice vistas, interesting puzzles, good storyline. Much of the game consists of making jumps but, even though I have a problem with reflexes/hand-eye coordination, it wasn't a problem as patience and experiment paid off. Then towards the end, out of nowhere, wind is introduced into the game and it becme impossible to me. I must have attempted one jump forty or fifty times. Looks like I won't be able to finish the game. So pointless to ruin an excellent game with a ridiculous twist.

    3 out of 6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. Mostly a platform game
    by Morten Vindberg, Denmark - Jul 5th 2014

    This is more of a platform game than an adventure. I gave up. I found all that unsuccessful jumping both annoying and boring. I guess my finger techniques are getting too old for this type of game

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By KISS

Currency