realMyst: Masterpiece Edition

realMyst: Masterpiece Edition Badge
realMyst: Masterpiece Edition. It's been 20 years, and there's never been a better reason to revisit the Ages of Myst.

Purchase

$17.99 

Media

Description

realMyst: Masterpiece Edition is a beautifully updated version of realMYST for today’s Mac and Windows computers – celebrating the 20th anniversary of Myst! The worlds have been reconstructed and enhanced to provide realistic water, changing weather, dynamic lighting, life-like foliage, bloom and other camera effects, and more. We’ve even redesigned the interface to provide an enjoyable way to explore for both novices and gamers.

realMyst: Masterpiece Edition – this is not your father’s Myst! It’s been 20 years since Myst became your world, and there’s never been a better time to revisit the Ages. This newly refreshed and rebuilt version of realMyst is all-things Myst, but amazingly more real. You can explore anywhere, unfettered, and in realtime! Pick your own path through the forest on Myst Island. Listen to the crickets as the sun sets in the Channelwood Age. Relax in the falling leaves in the Selenitic Age. Spin around for a full 360 degree tour of Sirrus’ throne room. Seek shelter from the thunderstorm in Stoneship Age.

And If you’ve ever been overwhelmed by realtime 3D – too many controls or too much motion – realMyst has something for you! You have the option to play the game just like the original Myst – with a simple point and click! Point where you want to go – click the mouse and you move through the world seamlessly to the new location. As a tribute to Myst’s 20th anniversary we’ve also added the original Myst images when you play in this Classic mode. Hold down the shift key and the original Myst image pops up, so you can see the difference and fondly remember that early Myst experience.

We’ve added plenty of new features to enhance and assist you on your journey. So whether you’re visiting Myst for the first time or you want to remember the first time – there’s never been a better reason to lose yourself and let the surrealistic Ages of realMyst become your world.
  • All the original Myst Ages plus bonus Rime Age
  • Full Myst gameplay and interaction
  • Dynamic environments – rippling water, falling rain, waving trees & grass
  • Advanced graphic effects like bloom, blur, depth of field, etc.
  • Day and night – watch sunsets and sunrises, or explore at night
  • Flashlight – for exploring dark nights or dark corners
  • Haunting Myst music score and dynamic 3D sounds
  • Classic Point & Click navigation option – just like original Myst
  • Free roam interface option – standard navigation controls
  • Zip Mode in classic navigation – hold down to keep walking
  • Auto quality option – checks your frame rate and auto-adjust your quality
  • Interactive Guides – illustrates how to interact with objects
  • Bring up original Myst images to compare and reminisce
  • Bookmark feature to save & restore progress
  • Auto-save to insure you pick up where you left off
  • realMyst Hint Guide – get past that one puzzle that’s got you stumped
realMyst is copyright © 2014 by Cyan, Inc. All rights reserved. Myst, realMyst, and Cyan are trademarks of Cyan, Inc.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.6.8Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU Cores2
CPU Speed2.4 GHz
System RAM4 GB
Drive Space3 GB
Video RAM512 MB
Video (ati)ATI Radeon HD 5670 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: ATI Radeon X1300, ATI Radeon X1600, ATI Radeon X1900 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro, ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT, ATI Radeon HD 4670, ATI Radeon HD 4850, ATI Radeon HD 4870
Video (nvidia)NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M *
* Unsupported Video Cards: NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500, NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600, NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300, NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, NVIDIA GeForce 9400, NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT, NVIDIA GeForce GT 120, NVIDIA GeForce GT 130, NVIDIA GeForce 320M
Video (intel)Intel HD Graphics 3000 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: Intel GMA 900, Intel GMA 950, Intel GMA X3100, Intel HD Graphics
Important Notes:
  • Optional Steam Key provided with purchase. Not required.
  • Needs Shader Model 3.0 compliant video card, so not compatible with Mac models before 2009.

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.3
From 115 Shoppers
5
 
60
4
 
35
3
 
13
2
 
5
1
 
2

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Good update
    by lewis35437, United Kingdom - Apr 12th 2018

    This is the best way to play Myst today.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Great classic!
    by PYTON, Poland - Mar 13th 2018

    It's a great game with a lot of puzzles. They are pretty simple but made with pleasure. ;)

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. A classic with modern presentation
    by dessicant, USA - Feb 26th 2018

    Nice to play one of the most famous puzzle games of all time with some modern improvements

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Nice
    by kakisgr, Greece - Jan 12th 2018

    This brings back my childhood one the first game I played was from this series this is a better version

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Outdated
    by Thalla, Germany - Oct 31st 2017

    As it stands, it is a clever puzzle game. But now, in the year 2017, this game has no place anymore. Set aside the technical issues on some PCs and the inability of some users to cope with them, from the visuals, to the interface it just does feel like a game from another time - which, of course, it is. Given the competition and the availability of far more than 100 other PAC games, I'd give this a pass.

    1 out of 3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. I like myst
    by Wyatt M., USA - Oct 20th 2017

    Myst is fun. fun is good. fun things are fun.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. GREAT to Return!
    by Daniel Steven Oles, USA - Sep 27th 2017

    I played the original Myst decades ago and remembered it as a kid frustrating. As an adult and with Real Myst however I can tell you this is a MUCH better experience. Even at in its most classic form Myst wove a world of wonder and Real Myst really alliows you to explore it now in real time with beautiful weather effects (the rain is epseically stunning).
    As far as I could tell all the puzzles and story beats were the same but as an adult I can now appreciate the puzzles and logic behind them much more as well as the zen like landscapes and atmosphere. Get lost in Myst again with high quality graphics, freedom to explore, and modern mechanics.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Classic puzzle game with classic approach
    by Murta, Croatia - Aug 29th 2017

    This game puts you in the middle of everything without any directions, clues or modern HUD. Which is great, but it makes you require patience I don't have.
    The gameplay and story still feel relevant and the graphics are nice (though definitely feel dated, but who cares, they're nice).

    If you like exploration & puzzles and have enough time & patience, you should definitely try this one. If not, skip it.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. It's MYST
    by Pixel Paintbrush, USA - Aug 28th 2017

    It's MYST, just like I remember it from my Old Power Mac days

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. A great classic brought back to life
    by lconanl, Romania - Jul 22nd 2017

    A beautiful recreation of a timeless classic, realMyst: Masterpiece Edition brings a piece of gaming history to modern times. While the graphics and sounds are completely revamped to match modern-day standards, the gameplay stays true to its original and does not fail to deliver the nostalgic Myst-feeling.
    It is, admittingly, a rather peculiar game, a slow paced and thoughtful puzzler in a surrealistic setting. Its puzzles can be overwhelming at times, especially for those unfamiliar with the genre, but they always have a logical (sometimes surprisingly straightforward) solution that makes you feel really smart if you solve them on your own. But even for those non-hardcore adventure gamers among you, the game offers a built in (optional) hint system that gives you little advices without spoiling too much.
    There are only few negative points that should be mentioned; The controls and movement feel a bit wonky at times and you might occasionally get stuck on objects on the ground (nothing game-breaking though), however Cyan is working on a fix for that at the point of this review. The in-game cinematics still have the low resolution from previous renditions of Myst, which seems a bit out of place considering the otherwise beautiful graphics. And the missing inventory (you can only pick up and carry one item at a time) is a rather annoying remnant from the original Myst game, often requiring an unnecessary amount of backtracking.
    In summary, realMyst: Masterpiece Edition is a game that wants you to immerse yourself, absorb the scenery and use your logical thinking. If you are a fan of the Myst series to begin with, this is almost a must-have, but any other adventure fan might take a look at this as well, to get a chance to enjoy a game that wrote history in a new and stunning visual design.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Like Reconnecting With An Old Friend
    by Doc Savage, USA - Jul 10th 2017

    I bought my first Mac in 1993 for the express purpose of playing Myst. It was Mac-only at the time because it had been written as a Hypercard stack (Wikipedia it, I'll wait).

    Experiencing the sight and sound of the Cyan logo drifting onto the screen and the familiar music and voice over was an amazing treat, and I was back in my crummy old apartment, sitting in front of a computer that cost nearly as much as my car, trying to make it to the next Age. There were no online guides (not much of an online anything) and I wasn't about to buy the cheat book. Talk about a different Age...

    Once the game started, I was disappointed at the video quality. I checked the game options but didn't see the second tab at the top that takes you to the screen resolution and video quality. Once I found that and cranked up the video, I was back in Myst-heaven again. Note that it is possible to over-crank the video if you're not on a higher spec system.

    You can play in "classic mode" which is the shot by shot view of the original, or you can enable full 3D mode which allows you to rotate 360 degrees and wander about.

    This is a great effort and I'm thankful to Cyan for letting me replay a classic for the first time.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Masterpiece of Adventure Games
    by Kaiser-e-rum, USA - Jul 5th 2017

    Myst is finally done justice with this re-release which keeps the flavor of the original game intact but also does it justice by re-mastering but not REPLACING the assets that made the original game so great. A remaster done right.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Myst is a classic puzzle game
    by whiteblack, Taiwan - May 13th 2017

    Myst is a classic puzzle game, I like to see it in a remastered version.

    1 out of 3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Still the best adventure game universe ever...
    by LunaNik, USA - Apr 21st 2017

    ...and the benchmark by which I measure game storylines. Most fall short. It's hard to top a fictional race of people with the ability to create universes by writing books, isn't it? Most developers don't even try, sadly.

    The environments are as beautiful and heartbreaking as I remember them; the animation just brings them more to life. Gameplay remains as much of a challenge as it was originally, and when I finished playing, I had pages and pages of handwritten notes, diagrams, and clues.

    I also had a deep sense of accomplishment, something most modern games don't provide because their puzzles are far too easy. When you've solved the underground labyrinth in the Selenitic Age, you tend to scoff at childish puzzles like matching pairs, the Towers of Hanoi, 12-piece jigsaws, and Simon Says. That's not gaming! It doesn't even require neurons!

    Lastly, the music remains one of the best game soundtracks in the history of gaming. I've listened to it regularly for more than 20 years; it still makes me smile and whisks me off to the island of Myst. I'd love to see realRIVEN and the entire series updated for modern computers.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. Great
    by niezapomiinajka, Poland - Dec 27th 2016

    A really good piece of game if you like this type.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
Currency