Gone Home

Gone Home Badge
Explore a mysterious house and discover the secrets of the family that lives there.

Purchase

$19.99 

Media

Description

"Gone Home is the greatest video game love story ever told." -The New York Times

"A remarkable achievement. 9.5/10" -IGN

"A captivating and deeply poignant journey of discovery. 9.5/10" -GameSpot

June 7th, 1995. 1:15 AM You arrive home after a year abroad. You expect your family to greet you, but the house is empty. Something's not right. Where is everyone? And what's happened here? Unravel the mystery for yourself in Gone Home, a story exploration game from The Fullbright Company.

Gone Home is an interactive exploration simulator. Interrogate every detail of a seemingly normal house to discover the story of the people who live there. Open any drawer and door. Pick up objects and examine them to discover clues. Uncover the events of one family's lives by investigating what they've left behind.

Go Home Again.
  • An Immersive Place: Return to the 1990s by visiting a home where every detail has been carefully recreated, and the sounds of a rainstorm outside wrap you in the experience.
  • A Personal Story: Created by veterans of the BioShock series, Gone Home offers the rich, nuanced details of one family's struggles to deal with uncertainty, heartache, and change.
  • No Combat, No Puzzles: Gone Home is a nonviolent and puzzle-free experience, inviting you to play at your own pace without getting attacked, stuck, or frustrated. This house wants you to explore it.
  • Fully Interactive Investigation: Discover what's happened to the Greenbriars by examining a house full of the family's personal possessions, and the notes and letters they've left behind. Use your powers of observation to piece together a story that unfolds as you explore.
  • Commentary Mode: Enable Commentary to hear behind-the-scenes insight from the creators of the game.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.7Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed1.8 GHz
System RAM2 GB
Drive Space2 GB
Video RAM512 MB
Video (ati)Any
Video (nvidia)Any
Video (intel)Intel HD Graphics 4000 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: Intel GMA 900, Intel GMA 950, Intel GMA X3100, Intel HD Graphics, Intel HD Graphics 3000

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.3
From 60 Shoppers
5
 
34
4
 
14
3
 
10
2
 
0
1
 
2

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Okay, but much too short.
    by GJames123, Canada - Dec 27th 2016

    Gone Home was unlike any game I've ever played. That being said, the game was much too short (less than 2 hrs. game time). Glad I got it for 75% off!

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Really good atmosphere!
    by Balduin Berger, Switzerland - Nov 9th 2015

    I really enjoyed exploring the whole house. One of my favourite features is the fact that you can listen to some really cool music by putting disks into the player.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Atmospheric Mystery
    by Minnie-mus, Canada - Oct 19th 2015

    Beautiful game full of tention and mystery. A bittersweet ending that stayed with me after I completed the game.

    On a dark and stormy night, you return to a new family home to discover your parents and sister are missing. As you explore the house you begin to piece together the story of what happened as your sister's journal narrates the past few months.

    What happened? Where are they? What's going on in the house?

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. 3 stars for effort
    by TeenIdol, Australia - May 27th 2015

    The story was a complete surprise, loved it. Graphics excellent. But I was so bored wandering around, I wanted some direction. I cheated and used a walk through to get to the end. There just needed to be more of a "game" element to make me care enough to put the story together.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Great story, looks good, but not interactive enough
    by raaoo, United Kingdom - Jan 2nd 2015

    I enjoyed this game. I like what the developers are trying to do, and the story is quite beautiful. The house is atmospheric and mysterious. However the story is quite linear and when you can move around freely there isn't really that much to do. Many interactive objects (folders, toys, cups) have no purpose at all. So the base premise and story are great, but it could have been fleshed out so much more.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Charming
    by Ken Marushige, USA - Dec 22nd 2014

    This is a good game for those looking for something compelling but not intense. The environment is mysterious but a little spooky.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Waste of time
    by LB_, Canada - Dec 1st 2014

    If I could give this less than 1 star I would. This isn't a game. It's a story. And you don't DO anything but follow through from room to room picking up scraps of paper, tapes, and useless items which you soon realize are there for NO purpose. Don't waste your time trying to figure out any lock combinations... no need, theres nothing in there that you would need to finish the game. Sorry, there is no challenge here... I would get excited because the game is creepy as hell.. until you realize nothing is going to happen. Useless side stories and papers to read which have nothing to do with anything. Don't waste your time. Horrible.

    4 out of 9 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Good game, but not great
    by Shelley Cadamy, USA - Oct 12th 2014

    I enjoyed this game, but I honestly saw the end coming a mile away. It's good, and I would buy it again, but it doesn't deserve the "best game ever made" kudos I see here.

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Too short!
    by zeeee, USA - Oct 11th 2014

    I wanted to LOVE this game. Casual exploration - with no fear of zombies lurching after you, or a time limit, or any other stressors - is really my style of gameplay. (Call me chicken; it's true!)

    The graphics are beautiful and the story is compelling. However, my fiancé and I finished this game in the span of something like a couple of hours - even trying to draw it out - and we both thought the ending was a little anticlimactic. Wonderful? Certainly. Worth $20? ...questionable.

    If it's ever on sale, I'd recommend it; $20 for two hours of moseying didn't add up for me - even with the gorgeous details.

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Good narrative, but not much gaming
    by Hilde Dekesel, Belgium - Sep 15th 2014

    This "game" tells an interesting story, and its world is created to accompany this. Sadly, this makes it less of a game and more of an interactive movie. A mediocre one at that. Don't expect ANY puzzling.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Great Game!
    by Emily Brazel, USA - Jul 25th 2014

    I love this game, honestly. It has a great plot, but it didn't earn five stars because once you complete the game (and it can be done rather quickly), there's nothing more to do. Granted, I've gone through 3 times and found journals the second and third time that I didn't find the first time I played through.

    Overall, a great game. I highly recommend you buy it.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. A exploratory mystery
    by benita, Australia - Jul 22nd 2014

    The basic premise is that you have to work out why no one is home when you arrive. The abandoned house is beautifully developed, with most objects being interactive. You can open all the cupboards and drawers and pick up most things. But you don't collect objects and solve puzzles like traditional adventures, you simply gather intel from each room to piece together what happened. There is lots of reading of notes and letters to do, and listening to the thoughts of the sister which are prompted by touching certain items. At first, it feels rather aimless, and I got to a point of not knowing what to do next and putting it aside for a while. But once you get access to the rest of the house, including the basement and the attic, the story moves into the final phase. It was worth persisting with, as the story was interesting and the ending was unforeseen. Overall I found it enjoyable to play, and loved the visuals a lot. I also loved the fact that there was no combat or time limits to interfere with exploring the house and discovering the secrets, unlike many games.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Different Game, like a novel
    by lokababy, Spain - Apr 15th 2014

    It was like reading a well-designed book. I really loved the storyline and the way you discover new things and you want to know more and more.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Excellent concept. I want more!
    by Koka Kliora, USA - Apr 14th 2014

    I love the game play. The concept is unique—explore to learn about the family's secrets. And you never interact with anyone, you just explore the house. I just didn't want it to end!

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. Thought provoking
    by hcs5490, USA - Mar 25th 2014

    I played through this game in just a few sittings, really taking my time. It's not a super long game, but it makes up for it in story. The ending is a bit predictable once you really get going, but there are a few red herrings and side-steps, as well. Gone Home is almost a mystery game, but it feels more personal than that, like you're really just exploring your own home, finding out things about your family's past and present. It's more about making quiet personal discoveries than really solving a mystery.

    My only gripe with the game was that the movement of the setting made me quite dizzy at times. The POV follows the mouse, so I had to make sure not to move my mouse too quickly or I would have to take a break or risk getting queasy.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
Currency