Democracy 3

Democracy 3 Badge
Have you ever wanted to be president? or prime-minister? Convinced you could do a better job of running the country? Here is your chance to find out...

Purchase

$24.95 

Media

Description

Democracy 3 simulates the motivations, loyalties and desires of everyone in the country. A custom-designed neural network is used to model individual voters, each which varying memberships of voting groups, political parties and pressure groups. Each voters income is modeled, along with their levels of complacency and cynicism. This is the most sophisticated political strategy game ever created.

Despite being vastly detailed under-the-hood, Democracy 3 has a unique user interface that makes visualizing the connections between laws, policies, voters and situations easy. A simple iconic-based view of your countries issues allows you to 'drill-down' through all the relationships between policies and voters to quickly analyze the impacts of your decisions. Your trade policy may affect GDP, which will affect unemployment, which will effect poverty, and thus crime, leading to a change in tourism, which affects GDP...

Each individual voter is a mixture of a subset of the 21 different voter groups represented within the game. They might be a young, wealthy, liberal socialist commuter, or a retired conservative religious capitalist, for example. Not only this, but the extent to which they identify each of those groups is both variable, and can be affected by your policies in the long term. Convert your country to religion, or atheism, to capitalism, or socialism by careful and nuanced adjustment of your policies and laws over time. A 'focus group' feature lets you look at individual voters and see exactly how they came to a decision to vote for you (or not!).

  • Complex economic & political model.
  • Thousand of detailed AI Voters.
  • Unique user interface.
  • Multiple countries to govern.
  • The only true government-simulation game.
  • Hundreds of events, policies and laws to choose from.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.6.8Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
64bit SupportNo
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed1 GHz
System RAM2 GB
Drive Space500 MB
Video RAM256 MB
Video CardAny

Downloadable Content For This Game (DLC)

DLCDemocracy 3: Social EngineeringReleased 3/10/2014$4.99
DLCDemocracy 3: ExtremismReleased 5/13/2014$4.99
DLCDemocracy 3: Clones & Drones DLCReleased 10/30/2014$4.99

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

3.7
From 28 Shoppers
5
 
9
4
 
8
3
 
7
2
 
2
1
 
2

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Un simulatore da non perdere
    by khadgar1, Italy - Jan 5th 2016

    Non è adatto a tutti i giocatori ma se piace la simulazione, specialmente quella più "testuale" che grafica Democracy 3 è un must.

    Sulla versione 2 si era perso un po' dei suoi punti di forza ma con la 3 si sono recuperati e lo consiglio per la gestione dei problemi, delle variabili nella condotta politica senza dimenticare la componente mod.

    [It is not suitable for all players, but if you like the simulation, especially the more "textual" and graphical 3 Democracy is a must. Version 2 had lost some 'of its strengths but with the 3 were recovered and recommend to management problems, the variables in the conduct politics without forgetting the component model.]

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. It is unique of you want to feel like president
    by Capt_zero, Saudi Arabia - Nov 14th 2015

    Too much things to be thinking of, great game whic you can easly spend much time playing.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Challanging
    by brasilrio, USA - Apr 2nd 2015

    Fun game but it could be better and a little more challenging

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Wow. money down
    by Dan Sanchez, USA - Nov 14th 2014

    Worst 25 dollars spent in quite a long time. I like a good thinking man's game but this is really unpenatrable. perhaps I'll come back to it someday but for now it is a huge regret.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Good Game but always get assinated
    by jnksgb, United Kingdom - Nov 3rd 2014

    This is a hard but good game, balancing the books while keeping everyone happy is no mean feat, I always get assinated in the end!

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Okay
    by DamonK, USA - Oct 4th 2014

    An okay game, but I got a bored with it pretty quick. I'm a big fan of simulation games, but maybe this one isn't for me.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. For those who enjoy being hated.
    by monkeynutsmatt, United Kingdom - Sep 24th 2014

    Like most polititians in a modern democracy, owners of this game are undoubtedly hated.

    The members of the public are impossible to please, one group dislike the way you tip-toe over crime, so you introduce the death penalty, this annoys another group, so you introduce more power to the unions, this upsets another group, so you raise road tax, this upsets another group, so you ……….. you get the picture.

    A very detailed and well thought out game, I have never played the previous democracy's so this was a first for me, and safe to say i'm impressed. I'll be honest, I haven't a clue what i'm doing !! Yet the experience is still satisfactory and enjoyable. There are many policies you can introduce or abolish, many sliders to adjust how much effort/money goes into them, many variables to take into account and many things that can go wrong. I barely scrape through a term, on the cusp of being elected out of office , yet I shall replay and change my tactics slightly to find the initial problem solved…… yet now I have 100 more to deal with!

    Highly recommended.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Too complicated for me
    by MaitrePlante, Canada - Aug 25th 2014

    I did not play this game a lot because of its hard mechanism... Maybe it's just me, but it was not the kind of game I tought it would have been.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Political Junkies Will Like
    by admac, USA - May 31st 2014

    This game is not for those wanting graphics. This is more about thinking and playing "god". It's fun. Can replay value is average - improves if you are willing to play your polar opposite - if liberal try being conservative…. Happy I bought.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Super Game
    by flaczencio, Poland - May 24th 2014

    Super. The game drew me completely. The whole night sometimes is not enough.

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. It's okay
    by Sean Thomas Riffenburg, USA - Feb 13th 2014

    Mildly disappointed in this game. Not really that much replay value, and the game has a glitch; in that, you constantly get assassinated by extreme groups with little you can do to prevent it. Definitely a liberal slant to the politics, so if you're conservative, you better get moderate quick!!!

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. IT BECOMES BORING AFTER A FEW PLAYS
    by lokababy, Spain - Feb 5th 2014

    Democracy is a really well developed game with great graphics and usability. But after you try different countries, you realize they are all the same and the challenges, problems and options become repetitive. I would not buy a 4th game if launched.

    6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Not there yet
    by kaanokcu, Turkey - Jan 27th 2014

    It seems like the real life. When I first launched the game, it was like omg, can it be but than when I played it, it didn't feel real. The relations and economy doen't seem like real life. I think they are in a good point but not there yet.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Meh
    by Anonowl, United Kingdom - Jan 26th 2014

    Its not all that challenging, there aren't enough events and once you've figured out how to game the system ('its the economy stupid') it gets dull fast. I won 5 reelections before I got bored.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. Fun game with pretty good replay value.
    by pedington6213, USA - Nov 10th 2013

    The game is really easy to navigate and fun to learn. Its impressive to watch how the game reacts to policy changes you make. If you shrink the military, the cost of running your government will go up but the patriots will be angry. If you raise capital gains taxes, the GDP will go down due to lack of investment. Alot of fun to play multiple times but like most games, getting creative will prolong the enjoyment.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Positech Computing Ltd

Currency