XCOM: Enemy Unknown - Elite Edition

XCOM: Enemy Unknown - Elite Edition Badge
XCOM, the Extraterrestrial Combat Unit - humanity's last hope.

Purchase

$34.99 

Media

Description

  • Action  Strategy  
  • Feral Interactive
  • 4/25/2013
  • English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Russian, Japanese (Text only), Polish, Korean (In-game Audio only)
Blood and Gore
Strong Language
Violence
XCOM, the Extraterrestrial Combat Unit - humanity’s last hope.

An electrifying combination of turn-based tactics, global strategy and sophisticated role-playing, XCOM: Enemy Unknown - Elite Edition puts you in charge of XCOM, a top-secret military organization responsible for defending Earth from a devastating alien invasion.

Take command on the battlefield while you simultaneously develop XCOM’s headquarters, train and equip its forces and negotiate with national governments. As civilian attacks and abductions work to create worldwide panic, you must outsmart and overpower your mysterious enemies before government funding for XCOM dries up completely.
  • A beautifully realised re-imagining of the groundbreaking classic X-COM: UFO Defense.
  • Command XCOM’s soldiers in tense turn-based battles where each decision could be the difference between game-changing gains or devastating losses for humanity.
  • Expand the XCOM base, manage its resources, oversee international relations and control Earth’s satellite coverage and air defenses.
  • Recruit, customise and equip an elite squad, then upgrade each soldier’s unique skills and abilities as they gain experience in the field.
  • Recover artifacts from battle and use them to research and build powerful technologies that can be turned against the invaders.
  • Mix and match aliens and soldiers to create powerful squads in LAN and online multiplayer.
  • XCOM: Enemy Unknown - Elite Edition includes the Slingshot and Elite Soldier Pack add-on content, as well as the Second Wave update, which includes a series of gameplay modifiers that add further depth and flexibility to the campaig
© 1994-2013 Take-Two Interactive Software, Inc. Take-Two Interactive Software, Inc., 2K, 2K Games, Firaxis Games, XCOM, and XCOM: Enemy Unknown, and their respective logos are trademarks of Take-Two Interactive Software, Inc. Developed for and published on the Mac by Feral Interactive Ltd. Unreal® is a registered trademark of Epic Games, Inc. Unreal® Engine, Copyright 1998-2013, Epic Games, Inc. This software product includes Autodesk® Scaleform® software, © 2013 Autodesk, Inc. Autodesk, and Scaleform are registered trademarks or trademarks of Autodesk, Inc., and/or its subsidiaries and/or affiliates in the USA and/or other countries. Dolby and the double-D symbol are trademarks of Dolby Laboratories. DTS and the DTS Symbol are registered trademarks of DTS, Inc. and DTS Digital Surround is a trademark of DTS, Inc. Mac and the Mac logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Feral and the Feral logo are trademarks of Feral Interactive Ltd. All other trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective owners. All rights reserved. The content of this videogame is fictional and is not intended to represent or depict an actual record of the events, persons, locations, or entities in the game’s setting. The makers and publishers of this videogame do not in any way endorse, condone or encourage engaging in any conduct depicted in this videogame.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.8.5Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed2 GHz
System RAM4 GB
Drive Space15 GB
Video RAM256 MB
Video (ati)ATI Radeon HD 4670 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: ATI Radeon X1300, ATI Radeon X1600, ATI Radeon X1900 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro, ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
Video (nvidia)NVIDIA GeForce 9400M *
* Unsupported Video Cards: NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500, NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600, NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300, NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT
Video (intel)Intel HD Graphics *
* Unsupported Video Cards: Intel GMA 900, Intel GMA 950, Intel GMA X3100
Other Requirements:
The following cards require you to have 8GB of system RAM: Intel HD3000, NVIDIA 9400 and NVIDIA 320M.

Downloadable Content For This Game (DLC)

DLCXCOM: Enemy WithinReleased 12/5/2013$29.99

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.7
From 86 Shoppers
5
 
69
4
 
14
3
 
2
2
 
0
1
 
1

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Great game
    by gr26, Germany - Jul 15th 2017

    This game provides what you expect from X-COM :-)

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. All what you were expected from this game
    by Lawyer, Russia - Mar 24th 2016

    This game is exactly what you were expected from x-com. great.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Awesome…
    by lukas Huber, Germany - Jul 4th 2015

    First the limited capabilities and actions concerning research- and engineering possibilities where a bit disappointing, also it was a bit short. It always a bummer when you finally maxed out your soldiers upgrades and then you have like one mission left to do. Still it was great fun.

    2 out of 3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. One of the best strategy games of this generation
    by ipickert55, USA - Mar 20th 2015

    This game is not perfect, but it is certainly one to be reckoned with.

    I've had massive amounts of fun with this game, and sunk more hours in than I should have. It's very satisfying, and the port is very well done. If you love any sort of strategy, this is a very approachable game, while also being very challenging.

    There are some balancing issues, for one thing, Snipers are overpowered as all hell, but that becomes irrelevant when you come across a brand new alien. Other than that, I cant recommend this enough.

    3 out of 4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Classic unforgiving strategy
    by TrippyTroy, USA - Feb 8th 2015

    This is one of THE best strategy games I have ever played. Endless replay ability, etc. Excellent

    3 out of 4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Deep enriching game
    by eetfukouijaaa, Malaysia - Dec 5th 2014

    If you have missed old school hardcore games, this will satiate your appetite. Its difficult without being too unfair, your reserouces have to be spent wisely, you can't spread your squad too thin, squad members are on a perma-death basis and combat is simple to pick up but difficult to master. Loving it!

    3 out of 4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. More than great game
    by Dart Vlader, Croatia - Nov 30th 2014

    I remember when I played Xcom as old turn based game for PC. This one is great graphic, advanced story and excelent game play packed with same old principles of playing. For me this is the best game for Mac ever.

    3 out of 4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Fascinating Game
    by wobbleboxx, Germany - Jul 5th 2014

    The game was really really fun to play trough. Although I encountered some gameplay and sound bugs along the way, the overall experience was great. I really enjoyed the story and the playtime is of a good length. A bit grindy if you want to cover everything, and full graphics even on my „old" mid 2010 iMac.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Reasonable reimplementation of original
    by Daniel Power, United Kingdom - Apr 22nd 2014

    Bought it two weeks ago. Finished it twice - on 'normal' and 'classic' difficulties.

    Overall a little disappointed.

    On the plus side its a shiny new version of a game I loved way-back-when.

    On the downside theres not much more development in terms of story or new concepts. Sure there's some nice new aliens, but if anything there is less variety in terms of mission types. My base didn't get attacked by aliens for example. I know the extension has more stuff, but I feel that there should be more content in the base set.

    Also : The interface is a bit amateur. There are keyboard hotkeys for actions - but they're different for different soldiers! So for one guy pressing '4' will reload his weapon, but for another its '3'. WTF?
    The view is far too zoomed in. It is possible to zoom out, but every time you switch soldiers it moves in again. This is irritating.
    Many many instances of polygon overlapping, With soldiers shooting through walls and aliens walking through each other.
    The 'free aiming' needed for rockets and grenades is bloody frustrating and far to sensitive to mouse movement.

    And to top it all there are still glitches in the game - especially when your troops use flight. During the final mission my ace sniper got stuck in a pillar and I had to leave him behind while my troops marched on without him. Lame.

    That said, if you liked the original there IS enough here to keep you amused. Despite all my complaints I'm glad I played it. I just wish it had been redone with a bigger budget.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Incredible Turned Based Game!!!
    by Gabriel388, Australia - Apr 20th 2014

    Incredible game. The graphics are just simply Amazing. Gameplay is also Amazing. Aliens are highly intelligent. The customisation options for your squad is so Cool. The different gear they can wear and use looks really great. The different locations where you fight the aliens are also very well done and designed. Also there are a variety of differerent missions to go on. One of the Best Visual Turned based games I have seen. I played the original XCom when it first came out on PC. This was an Incredibly Amazing Improvement.

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Needs tweaks, but it's a blast
    by Michael Yanovich, USA - Mar 2nd 2014

    I just got this, and really love it overall. But yes, it needs some interface tweaks.

    For instance: need to be able to skip the opening graphics. After the 20th time, I don't need to be reminded that it's Feral, and 2K, and the Unreal engine. Seriously, let me skip this!

    Need to be able to restart a level without having to go back to a saved game.

    Skip cut scenes for sure.

    But aside from those needed interface tweaks, I am really enjoying the game. A good, strategy-oriented Warcraft (no twitch reflexes needed).

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. 4.5, AWESOME, Multiplayer doesnt work??
    by daisyborat, USA - Mar 1st 2014

    This game is awesome, the tie in of "GOD MODE" down to POV movement and shots make it interesting and its done very well. The units are fun, the whole idea of the game is awesome, strategy, economic, science, etc. You can advance faster by risking and capturing enemies, thats awesome.

    This GAME CRASHES A LOT, it glitches about every 15 min, and crashes about every 90min, so very annoying. There are a few things that are dumb, just not very intuitive, like when you want to get new upgrades for weapons, it doesnt tell you exactly what your upgrade is, you have to research it, then buid it, then click on it and see what it did, thats sort of a silly thing. The voice acting is repeative and childish, "OW IM A SCIENTIST DONT BE A DUMB SOILDER" "ow im a soilder sit down sister" bla bla bla, super cliche and annoying.

    This game has an AMAZING FOUNDATION of innovative and fun play, but the glitching and crashing and the other silly things just make it a 4.5 instead of a 5. I hope they do more games like this, i hope another one comes out. Especially witha multiplayer option that actually works.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Perfect
    by BrixPogi, Philippines - Nov 19th 2013

    Exactly the strategy game I was looking for...

    Challenging mission, awesome graphics with great sound effects

    Can't wait for the expansion to come out

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Crashed on every start
    by Frightener, Germany - Oct 9th 2013

    Alle Voraussetzungen sind erfüllt, aber das Spiel bricht nach dem start sofort zusammen.

    (All requirements are met, but the game stops after start immediately together.)

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. XCOM: Enemy Unknown - Elite Edition
    by TBird69, USA - Sep 26th 2013

    What can I say about this game. This, in my opinion, game is so good, awesome, outstanding, addicting, it's the best game I've ever seen.

    Plays great on iMac, no problems at all. Need to read the manual. For me I always need to read the manual. I like hard games. XCOM is on my list as the best game I've ever played, and I haven't even gone far into the game. :-)

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Feral Interactive

Currency