Scrabble

Scrabble Badge
The fantastically fun crossword game is now specially designed for your Mac.

Purchase

$9.99 

Media

Scrabble Screenshot 1Scrabble Screenshot 2Scrabble Screenshot 3Scrabble Screenshot 4Scrabble Screenshot 5

Description

The fantastically fun crossword game is now specially designed for your Mac. Build words using letter tiles and enjoy quick, easy-to-learn controls and fantastic features. Play solo, compete with the computer, or challenge up to three friends in a Hot Seat challenge. Choose from a variety of game styles. Adjust the difficulty level when you play the computer. Track your best words and top scores, and chart your progress to become the best Scrabble player you can be.
  • Enjoy SCRABBLE fun on your Mac
  • View your stats, top scores and more
  • Learn to play quickly with helpful tips

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.8Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
64bit SupportNo
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed1.4 GHz
System RAM2 GB
Drive SpaceUnknown
Video RAMAny
Video CardAny

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

3
From 94 Shoppers
5
 
28
4
 
14
3
 
13
2
 
11
1
 
28

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Weird
    by Fred F.8, USA - Dec 11th 2018

    The game is ok but whenever I keep it in the dock I get a message it can't be opened and have to download again. I finally created an alias and left it on my desktop. So far so good.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Love
    by mkalinek, USA - Nov 21st 2018

    Play it all the time. Gives me good practice for when I play with others.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Scrabble
    by Donald L.2, USA - Jul 11th 2018

    Playing against the computer there are 3 levels I don't think I bothered playing the first level. In the second level at times the computer seems like an easy opponent It seems like I can win without putting in much of an effort. In the 3rd level seems like the only way you can win is to be an expert at these dictionary words.Does have nice stats. Would be nice if there were more and better skill playing options when playing against the computer.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Great digital version
    by Marcel Dufresne, Canada - Mar 2nd 2018

    If you like to play Scrabble, then you can't go wrong with this version of the game. It has all the game play of the real board game with the added bonus of a dictionary that will check the validity of a word for you. There is a cheat button that provides the best possible word for the seven tiles in front of you. Play against yourself, the computer or up to four live opponents.

    2 out of 3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. How could such a classic game be so bad
    by Terry Witzu, Canada - Dec 24th 2017

    Your up against a computer that feels like it's cheating. It just dominates you every turn as you may find yourself lucky enough to play 4 letter word at most.

    Even on easy this game is absolutely no fun whatsoever. Played a maximum of ten times before uninstalling.

    Huge fan and household champ of the real game, but you almost have to play it yourself to realize how bad it could possibly be.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Hugely disappointed
    by Gawaine, United Kingdom - Aug 8th 2017

    Very disappointed with this version of scrabble. The 'normal' mode is too easy but the 'hard' mode requires 100% recall of a dictionary which contains thousands (probably) of abstruse technical terms and omits many many common words, so it's impossible unless, I suppose, you are scrabble world champion.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Excellent Scrabble For Mac
    by jputting, Australia - Apr 6th 2017

    Works flawlessly when installed on macOS Sierra 10.12.4
    and is true to the original game.

    Can be played as a single person game or as in normal Scrabble you can have up to 4 players.

    I highly recommend this version of Scrabble.

    6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Up there with real thing
    by KerSha, Australia - Jan 22nd 2016

    Great way to get better at the game before playing with friends

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Traditional Game
    by Amanda Howard, USA - Jan 2nd 2016

    Enjoyable traditional game for all involved. Happy to purchase.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Scrabble
    by Simone Brightstein, Canada - Dec 15th 2015

    This is vastly inferior to your former Scrabble game.

    6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Mind tease
    by linda h, USA - Sep 20th 2015

    This is the best game for us older people, keeps the mind sharp

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. A Poorer Alternative...
    by Kalexa, United Kingdom - Jul 4th 2015

    I've only purchased this version of Scrabble out of necessity and lack of alternative rather than choice.

    For some reason unknown to myself and (by the look of comments from other disgruntled Scrabble seekers on forums & feedback pages) many other would-be Scrabble gamers, the original Scrabble (by Gamehouse I think) is no longer available to anyone with a more up to date iOS system on their Mac. Those using anything between Mavericks up to and including Yosemite are pretty much shafted. It simply will not work on your system.

    The alternative? …. That's where this version comes in. It's 'okay' … as the star rating here says; but it's so lacking in the features loved and used by gamers playing in the original electronic version of Scrabble. To name a few areas lost in this Scrabble:-
    - There's no word definition available in this version
    - There are only three levels (Easy, Normal and Hard)
    - A small detail maybe but nevertheless annoying, in this version, when playing against the computer, there is no delay time between your go and the computer's; because of this you have to wait each time you play until the computer has gone to see your word score.
    - The design is colourful enough, though too simplistic and rather juvenile looking
    - There is no function to allow you to save your games or even just review them afer playing.
    - Between the three difficulty levels there should be a fourth one - between Easy and Normal/Regular.
    - The game keeps opening at half screen level on my iMac and only a restart seems to remedy it…sometimes(!) …v.frustrating.

    I guess I'll keep asking and hoping that the developers of the original Gamehouse Scrabble version will take it on themselves to update the program and upgrade it to the latest iOS systems. Please, anyone, help!?!

    15 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Scrabble - Nothing more, nothing less
    by wobbleboxx, Germany - May 31st 2015

    I like playing scrabble on the iPad and so I thought I'll buy it for the computer as well, but it's definitely not as convenient as on the iPad. Other than that, playing against the computer is really hard, because it uses words you wouldn't normally use in your everyday language.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Scrabble
    by YVONNE SALTOUN, United Kingdom - May 20th 2015

    Terrible! This must be a very old version because the words in the dictionary are very limited. I have a scrabble app on my ipad and it is far superior. In fact, even the version I had before upgrading my mac was better than this one.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. What a piece of poor software don't buy it.......
    by bette mckeown, Australia - May 20th 2015

    Does not run on 10.10.3
    Libraries written by a dyslexic donkey.
    If your english is bad you will love it.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By PopCap Games

Currency