The Bard's Tale

The Bard's Tale Badge
Deep role-playing with non-linear gameplay, featuring wicked humor and clever personalities.

Purchase

$9.99 

Media

The Bard's Tale Screenshot 1The Bard's Tale Screenshot 2The Bard's Tale Screenshot 3The Bard's Tale Screenshot 4The Bard's Tale Screenshot 5The Bard's Tale Screenshot 6

Description

“The Bard’s Tale is easily the funniest game I’ve ever played, and I’ve played all the funny games out there.” – IGN

You are the Bard, a selfish rogue weary of pointless sub-quests and rat-infested cellars. Through song you summon magical characters to join you on your quest for coin and cleavage!

“Ready your weapon and bladder as you embark on this ridiculously addicting quest and the funniest adventure of the year, The Bard’s Tale” – Game Chronicles

Prepare to immerse yourself in over 20-30 hours of adventure, featuring:

• 50 enemy types (not counting bosses!)
• A vast world to explore with towns, wild forests, rivers, castles, towers, secret dungeons, snowy mountains, caverns, haunted tombs and more
• A full cast of bizarre NPC’s
• Over a dozen special boss enemies to defeat
• 16 magical characters to discover and then summon at will to aid you
• Over 150 unique items of weaponry, armor, instruments, tokens, artifacts and loot!
• More Song & Dance numbers than any other game, including a zombie dance-off!
• Over 14 hours of outstanding voice-acting from top Hollywood talent, including Cary Elwes (The Princess Bride) as the Bard, and the inimitable Tony Jay as the Narrator

But wait! That’s not all! Enjoy these great new additions to the original PC version:

New Features:
• Autosave—option to save automatically when you near a save-book in game.
• Full Screen Toggle—Cmd+F toggles between windowed and full screen view.
• Supports USB gamepads and sticks for controllers in addition to mouse/keyboard.
•Adaptive Rendering—displays at full native monitor resolution with user-accessible performance options**.

“This game is satire in its sharpest form” – Cheat Code Central

Play The Bard’s Tale today!

Mac OS X adaptation by Square One Games.
Copyright 2004-2012 inXile entertainment

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.6.8 *Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
* Not compatible with: 10.10.x, 10.11.x, 10.12.x, 10.13.x
64bit SupportNo
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed1 GHz
System RAM1 GB
Drive Space3.6 GB
Video RAM64 MB
Video CardAny
Important Notes:
  • Not compatible with OS X 10.10 Yosemite and later OSX/macOS.

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.1
From 71 Shoppers
5
 
30
4
 
28
3
 
7
2
 
4
1
 
2

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Fun
    by philippe woodward, United Kingdom - Oct 28th 2017

    A simple and funny take on the classic genre with nice twists

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Most lilkely the funniest RPG ever
    by Christoph Pfaff, Germany - Jul 9th 2015

    Hi there,

    even though the game isn't really a graphic or gameplay masterpiece, the story is great, ironic, sarcastic, and full of sexual references. Absolutely fun...

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. I would like to give it 4 stars
    by Shawn Brady, USA - Dec 14th 2014

    It's an entertaining and engaging game. It's not for the hardcore RPG player, as others have said. But it's not horrible as an RPG, even. Where this game fails is in the execution. I can't play the game for very long before it freezes, forcing me to force quit, and start over from my last save. It happens so much that I am just giving up playing what was a really wonderful game. Maybe you'll have better luck. Maybe you won't. As I only payed about $3, I'm not overly disappointed. But it's more trouble than it's worth.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Boring
    by michaeljahn, USA - Nov 8th 2014

    Does not live up to the hype. I expected a much more robust game.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. It grows on you
    by Valentina Pagliai, USA - May 9th 2014

    At first, I did not like this game. Partially because it was not thought for a Mac, it takes a while to master the movements on the trackpad. Once you have done that, however, it gets really fun. There are a few cheats to be found online. Most did not work on mac, some did. (I am a big cheater, I admit it :) - I play to relax, so I like to have it easy).
    The songs are great. I have even been singing them with my kids. So yes, a great game.

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Fun Game
    by NickalusFlemal, USA - Oct 7th 2013

    Bards tale is full of fun and humor. I would recommend the game to anybody that likes RPG games.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. A nice old RPG experience
    by JRJ, Netherlands - Sep 7th 2013

    The gameplay is simple and enoyable once you get the hang of it. Before that point it can be brutally punishing and make you wonder why you just died. It gets easier the further you progress, you don't need to collect everything to make the final fights trivial. I focused on the bow first and then two-handed as well.

    The summons are fun to work with once you can have multiple at the same time. A varied bunch, though you'll settle on a few favorites and virtually always include the crone.

    The graphics are dated and sometimes screwed up, but overall quite acceptable. The only real downside is the limited view distance. You're often shooting at enemies that you can't see (which is quite an effective tactic).

    The humor is mostly derisive and jaded, don't expect anything upbeat. It's delivered with excellent voices, unfortunately it gets repetitive. You might get tired of the narrator being tired of the Bard and the Bard being tired of everything.

    Don't worry about sexual content, there's virtually none.

    Whether you should be snarky or cheeky is often just a guess, and sometimes the Bard's behavior was the opposite of what I expected.

    In my case the cutscenes sometimes paused for a few seconds but most of the time resumed by themselves. Sometimes I had to escape for it to progress, though that skips the rest of the dialog. There's nothing important to miss though. Twice I had to force quit because it refused to continue. To me it was but a slight annoyance.

    Controller support is a big plus! The game plays perfectly with it.

    It's a nice touch to include the old games as well, though I didn't bother to play them.

    (The rat scam showed at the start can be repeated in various other places, for different rewards.)

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Charming, funny, and not half bad to look at.
    by .::Nox::., USA - Aug 12th 2013

    Lovely game. There's lots of hacking, slashing, and barrel smashing, to be sure, but it's got depth, too, and loads of good ol' "they-don't-make'em-like-that-anymore" RPG charm. The voice acting alone is nearly worth the price of admission. The graphics are actually very nice, even at full resolution. Just be aware that while you can swivel the camera and zoom in and out a wee bit, you're locked into a top-down camera view (which is odd as the game is fully 3-D), so if being able to position your POV freely means a lot to you, that might bug you a little. Aside from that, there's nothing to complain about here—certainly not at this price.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Too Much Crash
    by eric smith1, USA - Apr 9th 2013

    The game is very enjoyable except for the frequent crashings. I don't play much games on the mac and I have never experienced crashing like this. Other than that it is a refreshing change from the usual.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Pre-Alpha version
    by abtrapp, Austria - Mar 17th 2013

    Crashes every few minutes during the dialogs. Additional to that the storyteller stops after e few words and than all you can hear is silence, so you have to read what's going on, but that takes away a lot of the atmosphere of the game.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Laughing my… um… "socks" off.
    by auz268, USA - Feb 8th 2013

    After searching MacGameStore on countless occasions looking for an RPG that was light hearted, fun, and well made, I settled on The Bard's Tale.

    The moment the game started I new I was in for something good; voiced by Carry Elwes, of The Princess Bride, with graphics that made me think of the good old days, and a script/story written by someone I would love to drink a beer with. The humor is great (though adult) and the game play mechanics work well enough to sit an play for a touch.

    While I have not yet finished the game, I can say that this is definitely a game I will finish, if only to see what other jokes they manage to slip in.

    I can second the other review in the fact that there are quite a few bugs that hamper immersion... but, really, this isn't the kind of game you play to be immersed for hours on end, it's the kind of game you play with to relax and get a few good laughs..

    All in all, I can recommend this as a game worth playing (especially if you can get it for the $4.95 price tag).

    5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Great Game - if not for constant crashes
    by xuxxux, Germany - Jan 26th 2013

    The game is great, full of humor. I would give it 4 to 5 stars, if not for the crashes

    * crashes very, very often during dialogues, not only breaking immersion but also losing game progress
    * sometimes the game gets unbelievable slow. Running around a plain field with 3 compagnions sometimes is painfully slow.
    * PS: Right now I cannot continue to play, because the game crashes (freezes) every time in the same dialogue.

    5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. More information upfront
    by Susan Cooper, USA - Jan 2nd 2013

    Might be nice to see more helpful information upfront.

    3 out of 6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Great game for $10
    by 2-Scoopz, USA - Dec 30th 2012

    Very funny game with surprisingly good graphics. Not a typical collect everything you can find treasure hunt like Skyrim but still fun. Very fast load times and it runs smooth on my 15'' macbook pro.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By InXile Entertainment

Currency