SimCity

SimCity Badge
The defining city simulation is back! Create the city you desire and make the choices that shape your city and power the Sims within it.

Purchase

$19.99 
Game not eligible for returns. Sale is final.

Media

Description

  • Simulation  
  • Electronic Arts
  • 8/29/2013
  • Český, Dansk, Deutsch (DE), English (US), suomi, suomen kieli, Français (FR), Magyar, Italiano, 日本語, 한국어, Nederlands, Norsk, Polski, Português (BR), Русский язык, Svenska, 中文(繁體)
The defining city simulation is back! Create the city you desire and make the choices that shape your city and power the Sims within it. Every decision, big or small, has real consequences. Invest in heavy industry and your economy will soar—but at the expense of your Sims’ health as pollution spreads. Implement green technology and improve your Sims’ lives while risking higher taxes and unemployment. Team up with your friends to solve global challenges: launch a space shuttle, reduce carbon emissions, or build magnificent wonders. Compete on global and regional leaderboards to be the richest, the dirtiest, the happiest or the best place to visit!
  • Constructible Worlds — Creative and customizable world that offers unique gameplay benefits, all with a fun tactile interface.
  • Sims Matter — The Sims in your city speak to you directly and it’s up to you to respond to their needs. Will you listen and be the toast of the town? Or abuse your power for fame and fortune
  • Specialize in What You Love — Mold your city as a casino resort, manufacturing hub, educational enclave, and more, and then watch as a unique look and feel spread throughout your city.
  • Multiplayer — Build a region with friends for the first time! Collaborate or compete in regional and global challenges and make decisions that impact the greater SimCity World.
  • GlassBox Engine — SimCity introduces GlassBox, the revolutionary simulation technology that gives you the power to impact individual Sims lives, manage city level simulation, and balance multiple city simulations at once.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.7.5Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU Cores2
CPU Speed2 GHz
System RAM2 GB
Drive Space12 GB
Video RAMAny
Video (ati)ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT *
* Unsupported Video Cards: ATI Radeon X1300, ATI Radeon X1600, ATI Radeon X1900 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT
Video (nvidia)NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT *
* Unsupported Video Cards: NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500, NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600, NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300, NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, NVIDIA GeForce 9400
Video (intel)Intel HD Graphics 3000 *
* Unsupported Video Cards: Intel GMA 900, Intel GMA 950, Intel GMA X3100, Intel HD Graphics
Important Notes:
  • Requires Origin and an Origin Account to play.
  • Intel HD Graphics 3000 users require OSX 10.8.4 or later

Downloadable Content For This Game (DLC)

DLCSimCity French City SetReleased 8/29/2013$9.99
DLCSimCity: Cities of TomorrowReleased 11/12/2013$19.99

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.2
From 135 Shoppers
5
 
78
4
 
26
3
 
15
2
 
6
1
 
10

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. SimCity
    by Jeff B.5, USA - Oct 18th 2013

    Be careful when downloading. I downloaded the game, and think it is a great game...BUT I did not even think to verify what language I was purchasing. To the best of my knowledge, I was not offered a language. Needless to say, I have a game in a language that is not English. All text is in English, including instructions and even the bubbles when Sims are speaking. But the Sims are speaking in other than English. Best guess, I have an Eastern European version, maybe Ukrainian...but not sure.

    Great game, great graphics and a lot of fun. I just wish the Sims spoke English.

    4 out of 9 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. New players have fun, Old players... not worth it.
    by Araknis, Australia - Oct 9th 2013

    Let's start with the good things...

    The graphics are nice if your rig can handle them (mine defaulted to low for everything so it looked like sim city from yesteryear until I upped it all), I cranked up all the graphics to max just to see what it looked like and it looked pretty nice, even though my laptop can't handle it. I run it at medium for the most part now, and it looks good enough.

    The city specialization is nice, make a mining town or Las Vegas... but it's very limited in how long that will work, especially for mining, more of that later.

    The MMO part where everyone can join a region is fun, make your city work with others in the world, something I'm sure most of us wanted... but it was implemented so badly it's not really worth it.

    So the good things have a lot of bad attached to them. Let's move on to the bad then.

    You MUST have a permanent internet connection or you can't even play, there is NO offline mode at all... WoW anyone? Due to the need of the internet connection it's SLOW, as everything has to be d/l or u/l from the cloud (best to let your city run for a few game hours before you quit or it might not save everything you did so sucks if you crash and EA and crashing...)

    SimCity used to be a long term game, it's not anymore. I'll explain.

    So it's great that we can make mining cities and stuff now and that resources aren't endless, but the resources barely last long enough for you to make a city reliant on those resources, after selling off nearly all your resources to upgrade your HQ it seems kinda pointless when you can't keep that up. I've never seen a mine in RL close after two years because it ran out of resources and yet in SimCity this is exactly what happens, you have to respecialize your city, after spending a lot of time and money to make a great mining town you're basically kicked in the privates and told to make a new city.

    Again on resources, water...

    Water runs out, fast.

    So like in RL our cities are relying on water and power and even garbage from outside of the city... but... there is nothing outside the city other than what other people make. It's been mentioned a lot about the small size of city land now, you really don't have room for power plants and land fill, now we need a bunch of water pumping stations that all run out? With less land to put them on? Bad form EAxis.

    I guess the Sim City of old is dead, the new Sim City is for people with no attention span that don't want to spend weeks or even months on their city to make it great. This five minute city is not appreciated to this reviewer. I don't want to make a new city, I want the one I made to be long term. After all wasn't that the point of it in the first place?

    Sim City... make a city that grows and is profitable... lucky to get a full day play out of a city now. Your resources run out way to damn fast. For example, you go with mining, plop a mining HQ and have to sell of nearly all your resources just to upgrade your HQ... then have nothing left to sell or smelter... not very long term.

    I know this review is long winded, but I hope some people read it and get something useful out of it. Some of us have waited a long time for this game, and it was a total disappointment.

    New players have fun, for the old players, not worth it.

    33 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. It's Great!
    by Jordan Bedford, United Kingdom - Sep 6th 2013

    Even with the required internet connection and smaller than ideal lots, SimCity is a fun and interactive game which has good replay value.

    3 out of 7 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. The wait was worth it.
    by moofthestoof, USA - Aug 31st 2013

    If the extended delay of the release date is what it took to ship a solid, well-rounded and fun game, then I'm glad they took their time.

    2 out of 9 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Worse Simcity ever!
    by maddler, Ireland - Aug 30th 2013

    Been playing with Simcity since the 1st episode.
    This is absolutely the worst one. City size is absolutelu disappointing (and reason given by EA about that is absolutely ludicrous).

    There are a few good characteristics but, overall absolutely not worth the money. SC4 is way better and a lot mor fun to play!

    Not giving 1star only just because "hate it" would be too much, perhaps. But I would never suggest to buy it.

    19 out of 24 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Dreadful
    by myglasseye, England - May 29th 2013

    So many things wrong with this game, and not just the terrible server issues.

    The traffic simulation remains badly broken.

    Sims constantly complain about lack of shops, parks, jobs, police, transport links, water, power, you name it, when there's plenty of all of them.

    The space you're given to make cities in is tiny, a fraction of what it was in every previous game.

    And you can't save the game then destroy it with aliens and re-load the old save, which was half the fun.

    A shadow of the game it used to be, and that's assuming you can get into a server.

    The end of SimCity, for me.

    46 out of 69 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Good Game
    by MedalOfMode, Turkey - Mar 24th 2013

    I played it on my PC. I recommend it, very good.

    38 out of 65 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Definite Buy!!!!
    by Joshua Cunningham, - Mar 24th 2013

    I have this for Windows and despite the glitchy server issues that came with the release, I am HOOKED!!! Cannot stop playing this game. I will definitely buy for my Mac and cant wait for the release date!!

    46 out of 71 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Cool!
    by Wolfpaw, - Mar 10th 2013

    I love it but system requirements subject to change?

    28 out of 65 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Looks cool
    by Jack Tobin, USA - Jan 13th 2013

    I have the sims 3 and love it so i think i will love this one 2.

    29 out of 263 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Electronic Arts

Currency