Sid Meier's Pirates!

Sid Meier's Pirates! Badge
Discover what it takes to become one of the most famous pirates in history.

Purchase

$9.99 

Media

Description

Alcohol Reference
Suggestive Themes
Violence
Discover what it takes to become one of the most famous pirates in history! Based on Sid Meier’s original masterpiece, Pirates! invites you to live the life of a 17th-century Buccaneer in this epic, open-ended seafaring adventure.

Test your skills as a privateer flying the Jolly Roger across the Caribbean. Duel enemy captains, exchange plank-shattering broadsides and seize valuable booty, woo fair maidens, dig up buried treasure, and of course plunder unsuspecting ports. As your reputation and skills grow, so will the size and quality of your crew, and your ability to take on larger enemy ships, raid heavily fortified ports, and locate ancient treasure. There's a whole cast of interesting and dangerous characters to meet, mysteries to solve, and exotic island destinations to discover.

It’s a game of high adventure, where brave and skilled players battle for treasure and glory. Those who succeed achieve great fame and wealth – and those who fail rest forever in Davy Jones’ locker!
© 2005-2011 Take-Two Interactive Software and its subsidiaries. All rights reserved. 2K Games, the 2K Games logo, and Take-Two Interactive Software are all trademarks and/or registered trademarks of Take-Two Interactive Software, Inc. Sid Meier’s Pirates! © 2005-2011 Firaxis Games, Inc. All rights reserved. Mac and the Mac logo are trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Feral and the Feral logo are trademarks of Feral Interactive Ltd.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.5.8Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
64bit SupportNo
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed1.4 GHz
System RAM512 MB
Drive Space1.4 GB
Video RAM64 MB
Video CardAny

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.2
From 83 Shoppers
5
 
47
4
 
20
3
 
9
2
 
2
1
 
5

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Live the Swashbucklin' Life!
    by Daniel Steven Oles, USA - Sep 5th 2017

    It's a charming, fun, breezy game but it has depth and character. You end up doing A LOT of the same thing but there's been attention paid to make you advance to new challenges, uncover new secrets, and have multiple paths to victory. I like loading up and enjoying a little sailing, dueling, dancing and treasure hunting!

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Love this game!
    by Roberto Rodriguez1, USA - May 2nd 2017

    This is a classic but never gets old. Love the replayability and different story lines one can choose, or not choose, to retirement. This should be a staple in everyone's adventure game library.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Vintage Pirates, but glitchy
    by chaddgar, USA - Jun 1st 2016

    Text glitches, and the game can crash on occasion, but other than that it's the Pirates game we all love and remember!

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Still a classic ...
    by Karl F. Davie Burgdorf, USA - Apr 3rd 2016

    This is a great game that was updated for a new generation of gamers. It is fun and unlike so many of the other games that places too much on graphics. The graphics a simple; the game is fun; and the gameplay is simple. I've played this game sine the original "Pirates!" back in the day and can say it is still fun.

    The most unique part of this game is the total lack of linear gameplay. You really get to chose your path and get rewarded (or punished) for it.

    There are some weird bugs that have caused my MacPro to crash — HARD. It has happeded sever times on this game and it has NEVER happeded with any other program.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Classic
    by GUBallboy, USA - Nov 25th 2015

    I hadn't known about this game until I bumped into it here, but it is a very fun, albeit simple, game that is worth some time.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Didn't work so well
    by JRJ, Netherlands - Jul 25th 2015

    The game is quite endearing and full of charming moments. It just gets very repetitive really quickly, at least for me.

    There was also a graphics problem, which made transitions between scenes glitch out. Not a big deal, but it ruins the immersion.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Gameplay master
    by thadd, USA - May 31st 2015

    I played this game avidly when I was a kid, and then picked it up again last year. I wish they would remaster it. the storyline is less than compelling, but you will soon lose sight of that in the all to fun ship battles, ship upgrades, pillaging towns, faction wars, sword fighting, and sailing the caribbean. 8/10 would play again.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Best pirate game
    by Mlha Mlhos, Czech Republic - Jan 10th 2015

    It is the best pirate game I have ever played. It is dynamic, not like in Port Royal, u just play and play and advance in your adventure. I like the dancing add-on a lot. Also the battles with cities are great. If your crew starts to be annoyed from long sailing, go to loot a city and this will do :-) Only one think I did not like - wanted to marry more daughters of the governors and it did not allow me…. :-)

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Great game
    by El Fuego, Denmark - Dec 26th 2014

    This is the old classic, in new clothes, so to speak.

    If you haven't played Pirates! you're in for a treat, and if you have played it before, you're in for a fond reunion :-)

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Awesome gameplay and graphics
    by ronaldo S. Ortiz, Philippines - Nov 29th 2014

    I like this game very much.It is actually a strategy and rpg game at the same time.You play the role of a member of an indebted family that was oppressed by its creditor and scattered to different locations.You can choose your own path whether to rescue them or go on your own as a pirate.

    When you choose to be a pirate you can also become an agent of one of the colonial powers and receive promotions.

    What blew me away in this game is the awesomely beautiful and colorful graphics which is better than most animated and cgi movies and games.And the gameplay won't let you down either as you can engage in individual swordfights or with your men or battle warships and capture treasure laden ones in the high seas.Plus you can even capture the heart of a settlement governor's daughter;just master those dance steps at the ballroom when you get invited.How about that getting treasure and fame when you defeat fellow pirates the more notorious the more famous you become.And fill your coffers with captured treasures but also keep your men happy.And finally meet seductive barmaids at the tavern as well as get information from a mysterious guy and the gossipy bartender.

    This game is very entertaining and amusing to play.Leaves me feeling glad and cheerful after a game.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Un vieux jeu mais très plaisant
    by MaitrePlante, Canada - Aug 25th 2014

    Le jeu est bien bâti et on s'amuse plusieurs heures! Le fait qu'il soit un vieux jeu bénéficie du fait qu'il n'y a aucun bug et ne prend pas beaucoup de place sur le disque dur pour un vieux portable comme le mien!! Si vous ne choisissez pas un jeu pour ses graphiques, je vous le conseille donc fortement.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Pirates! Returns
    by Elias Chapelle, USA - Jul 8th 2014

    Sid Meier's Pirates is an excellent rewrite of this classic game which contain all the variations of the old classic using surperior graphics and play. The heart of the game, sailing and firing on other ships is still here as are the quests you need to complete to raise your final score. The game sorely needs a better key mapping explaination (it is possible though it is not explained in the documentation) because the best keyboard controls rely on having a keypad on your keyboard. Most laptops and most desktops do not have keypads and the most effective controls rely on using a mouse AND a keypad. Worse yet are two additions to the game that are both useless and difficult to use; sneaking through a town and dancing with the woman to gain rewards. I have yet to understand why the town sneak was even added. It has no game function what so ever. The dance sequences at least offer a chance of rewards but the difficulty of movement (you need to use the keypad to be most effective) gets harder as you progress in rank. Very odd. My experience with real dancing is that you improve with practice. These 2 unneccesary additions make me rate what would have been a 5 star star game as only a 3 star game.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Ship Duels Are The Best Part
    by DynoMac, USA - Jun 24th 2014

    I enjoyed the DVD version of this game quite a bit on my older iMac. Now I want to play it on my MacBook Pro. I tried other pirate games for the Mac (not many out there) but I always come back to this one. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to sail as a pirate in the Caribbean.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Yarr
    by Jesper Larsen, Afghanistan - Feb 10th 2014

    To err is human, to Arr is pirate!

    Back to the olden days, and all fun! Not too hard, not too difficult, just riaarrght

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. Great Classic Game
    by belvedere, Singapore - Dec 29th 2013

    Best pirate game ever. had fun playing it years ago when it first came out and still having fun now

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Feral Interactive

Currency