Avadon

Avadon Badge
Spiderweb Software brings you Avadon: The Black Fortress, the first chapter in a new, epic fantasy saga.

Purchase

$9.95 

Media

Avadon Screenshot 1Avadon Screenshot 2Avadon Screenshot 3Avadon Screenshot 4Avadon Screenshot 5Avadon Screenshot 6Avadon Screenshot 7Avadon Screenshot 8Avadon Screenshot 9

Description

Spiderweb Software brings you Avadon: The Black Fortress, the first chapter in a new, epic fantasy saga. You will serve the keep of Avadon, working as a spy and warrior to fight the enemies of your homeland. As a servant of the Black Fortress, your word is law. Experience an exciting fantasy role-playing adventure and battle a conspiracy to destroy your people.
  • Epic fantasy role-playing adventure in an enormous and unique world.
  • Four different character classes, with dozens of unique spells and abilities.
  • Uncover the fascinating history of Avadon and the land of Lynaeus.
  • Many different endings. Your choices will change the world.
  • Dozens of side quests, hidden dungeons, and secrets to discover.
  • Hundreds of magical items to find. Use powerful crystals to make your artifacts even more powerful.
  • Huge adventure with lots of replay value.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.5.8Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
64bit SupportNo
CPU TypeUniversal
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed800 MHz
System RAM512 MB
Drive Space200 MB
Video RAM32 MB
Video CardAny

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4
From 69 Shoppers
5
 
31
4
 
20
3
 
6
2
 
9
1
 
3

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Ho hum
    by Alecat, Canada - Apr 1st 2018

    This series is so much the same and lots of running about to get things done

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Avadon 5 Stars
    by Optimus Prime, USA - Nov 17th 2017

    If you are a fan of CRPGs and Spiderweb software and their games like Avernum or Old School Blades of Exile, you'll be right at home with Avadon.

    It is like the other Spiderweb Software CRPGs- great gameplay, well thought out storylines, great plot, good graphics and very entertaining.

    It plays like the other Spiderweb Software titles too, and I love the character development and exploring the world and engaging with NPCs and combat with enemy entities.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. A bit TOO old school...
    by Chris Petschler, USA - Sep 3rd 2017

    Yep, this is the classic isometric build-a-party and go adventuring type game, but it is NOT Baldur's Gate or Icewind Dale or the like. If you're looking for that kind of game (and you're NOT alone,) keep looking...

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Still Holds Up
    by Blair Barkley, Canada - Sep 27th 2015

    Those that are serious RPG gamers will like diving into the world of Avadon. Its a classic RPG that relies heavily on reading and exploring. There are large maps to explore and lots of missions to take on or not take on, with of course lots of managing your character and the loot you collect, buy and sell. And I still think the graphics just make the cut and look great.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. RPG
    by harry Olden, United Kingdom - Sep 17th 2015

    BRILLIANT old school RPG, honestly what more do you need

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Linear but Fully Satisfying Experience
    by Daniel Steven Oles, USA - Jun 9th 2015

    This is probably considered 'casual' but I can't help myself but enjoy it. The openness of the world, the vast variety of objects to pick up and people to talk to, the unconventional (although admittedly mostly linear) path with several branches based on meaningful choices: this has all the addictive factors of a triple A RPG but it's much faster paced, never loses its way, and has a fair bit of strategy. A fine story, decent graphics, and a surprising amount of options. I was expecting to pick up a cheap time waster and I'm honestly more hooked on this series than 'bigger' games because of how easy it is to pick up and play.
    The problems I have are two fold. This game is aggressively one-track. Playing different characters may change the playstyle but not have much effect on the story which mostly plays out the same. The other issue is YOU CAN NOT SAVE YOUR GAME OR EXIT/SAVE DURING COMBAT. I found that out the hard way. Also the Settings menu option on the first screen doesn't work.
    But niggling aside if you like old-school games with a simple interface, an introduction to fantasy/strategy RPGs, or just something to keep you occupied in screened mode this is a fine value for your money! Charming, addictive, and has a lot of heart and imagination.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Engaging
    by Valentina Pagliai, USA - Jul 8th 2014

    This was the first game I played by the makers and I liked it enough to go on and buy their other games. While not as good as the original Avernum, it is a great game. I had not problems with bugs (on a 2012 Mackbook Air with OS 10.7.5). There is a lot to read, true, but I didn't mind because it helped develop the characters, and I like to play with fuller characters. I did not like you had to play inside the establishment (as an Avadon agent), but I did like the game allowed you rebellion. I did not like that gender choices forced you into class choices (a problem solved in Avadon 2).

    8 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Never Bores…
    by The Count, Italy - Apr 13th 2014

    Like in all Spiderweb games, graphics are excellent, the storyline is very engaging and then i say "4 STARS"!

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. To complicated
    by Janell nieuwendijk, USA - Oct 16th 2013

    When you are new to RP this just was really overwhelming for me and i could not get into it

    1 out of 5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Another adventure, it never bores, does it..
    by geeveedee, Netherlands - Oct 11th 2013

    These spidergames are all the same, but every time they're a bit more 'adventurous'. They have my vote.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Well worth the price
    by springacres, USA - Aug 6th 2011

    I downloaded the demo and knew almost immediately I would have to buy the full version. The graphics are excellent, the mechanics are simple and the combat system is very easy to learn.

    But all these would be nothing if there were no story to propel the game forward. There are aspects of it that are relatively linear, but overall the storyline feels very character-driven, and indeed the interactions and commentary by the 'ally' characters are one of my favorite things about the game. Each ally character has a distinct personality and history - as do many of the other NPCs - and the more you interact with them, the more they reveal about themselves. I haven't played many other RPGs, but that element more than any other is what convinced me to purchase the game.

    I haven't managed to reach any of the endings yet, either - I'm having too much fun exploring the game world and developing my characters within it!

    13 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Big on content
    by Derek Kuhl, USA - May 10th 2011

    The game is pretty huge. You have to be careful with how you progress, because it's not an endless spawn session like other games. What you kill is going to affect the game, and make the world a safer place. I found the game is easiest to play with a rogue and mage, since they can lower the entrance cost to content with the lockpicking. The healing is universal and in some cases can add a lot of fun tension when you're waiting for your next regeneration ability after a hit.

    I'd love to see this small studio team up with some others and make an even bigger game.

    11 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Avadon: Old School RPG with modern elements
    by Wumpus, USA - Apr 14th 2011

    Spiderweb Software has always known how to weave an intriguing tapestry of epic questing, immersive atmosphere along with a compelling story, characters and dialogue. Avadon: The Black Fortress is no exception. Graphics are great, dialogue snappy, quests varied, leveling and loot addictive. Everything a solid RPG needs. Its pleasing to see that even after 16 years of making old-style RPG's, Jeff Vogel knows how to keep things fresh and interesting. Buy it!

    10 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Another great Spiderweb game
    by Jennie Morgan, USA - Apr 3rd 2011

    I have been playing games produced by Spiderweb software ( a small independant company) and have always found them entertaining and engrossing. Many hours of play, and an interesting storyline is what is in store. Enjoy.

    11 out of 14 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Spiderweb Software

Currency