Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition

Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Badge
Two world dominating games in one! Uniting multi-award winning Rome: Total War and its official expansion pack, Barbarian invasion, you must guide history's greatest armies to their victories.

Purchase

$19.99 

Media

Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Screenshot 1Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Screenshot 2Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Screenshot 3Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Screenshot 4Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Screenshot 5Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Screenshot 6Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Screenshot 7Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Screenshot 8Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Screenshot 9Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Screenshot 10Rome: Total War™ - Gold Edition Screenshot 11

Description

Violence
Welcome to Rome – Welcome to War.

Two world dominating games in one! Uniting multi-award winning Rome: Total War and its official expansion pack, Barbarian invasion, you must guide history’s greatest armies to their victories in a game of epic real-time warfare, empire building, politics and treachery.

Play as one of three great Roman families, whose thirst for power will stop at nothing. This the world of Hannibal, Julius Caesar, Cleopatra and a thousand others. This is a world of soldiers, gladiators, tyrants, monsters and fools. It’s a rich, exciting world, awaiting a conqueror – you! You must use military genius to build an empire that stretches across Europe and Africa. Finally march on Rome to seize control of the greatest empire in the world. Then in Barbarian invasion either defend it or lead a Barbarian horde and bring the once mighty empire to its knees.

© 2002–2010 The Creative Assembly Ltd. Total War, Rome: Total War Barbarian Invasion and the Total War logo are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Creative Assembly Ltd in the UK and/or other countries. All rights reserved. All other trademarks and trade names are the properties of their respective owners. SEGA and the SEGA logo are registered trademarks or trademarks of SEGA Corporation. Mac and the Mac logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Feral and the Feral logo are trademarks of Feral Interactive Ltd.
  • Innovative battle tactics - Experience innovative battlefield tactics and real-time battles with up to 10,000 soldiers on-screen at once.
  • Command and build your campaigns - Command and build economic, civil, religious and military power with the century-spanning campaign.
  • Fight against great leaders - Fight alongside or against history's greatest leaders such as Julius Caesar, Spartacus, and Hannibal to expand or destroy the Roman Empire.
  • Lay siege with signature weapons and abilities - Lay siege against the Romans as Attila the Hun, the fearful Saxons, or other savage factions using signature weapons and abilities.

Requirements

Mac Requirements Minimum Supported Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.8.5Download the MacGameStore App to compare your Mac's information in real-time.

Get the Mac App
64bit SupportNo
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed1.4 GHz
System RAM512 MB
Drive Space6 GB
Video RAM128 MB
Video CardAny

Downloadable Content For This Game (DLC)

DLCRome: Total War™ - AlexanderReleased 2/27/2014$4.99

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.4
From 186 Shoppers
5
 
123
4
 
36
3
 
9
2
 
7
1
 
11

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Classic.
    by Paul Fischer, USA - Nov 22nd 2017

    I played this over and over again in anticipation of the sequel a few years back. It was worth every battle. The game broke alot of ground and is historically accurate as well. It is easy to forget that even some ancient empires kept meticulous records and combined with archeological data have given historians the opportunity to make a superior simulation such as this one.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Decent game
    by jr7o7, USA - Mar 2nd 2017

    Is a easy game to play and easy to learn runs great on my mac no issues

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Great game that runs on everything
    by andregurov, USA - Jul 18th 2016

    Fantastic depth of gameplay that is accessible to all; even my MacBook Pro from 2011 runs it (albeit a bit hot!) with few problems. Animations are, of course, a bit crude compared to the newest Total War games but this one is a classic, especially so at a budget price. Highly recommended.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Many hours of fun
    by Beeble, USA - May 30th 2016

    This is a fantastic game. A great blend of grand strategy and tactical strategy. I've played many Total War games but this one was my first and is still special.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. A True Classic
    by Evans Griffin, USA - May 11th 2016

    This is the "Spartacus" or "Ben Hur" of RTS games - vastly superior not only to its contemporaries, but to the more recent additions to its genre as well. Newer Total War titles have "improved" on this title's graphics and options, but they've never matched the perfect balance between large-scale strategy and unit-by-unit tactical simulation of Rome. This isn't a dense, empire building, mechanics-heavy Crusader Kings II-style strategy game, and it's not a mindless go-go-go unit-spamming RTS; it's something between the two, and it occupies that niche with the dominance of a Roman garrison.

    The flaws of the game are worth mentioning, if only for completeness. The "diplomacy" system is as useless as Roman cavalry. The historical accuracy is questionable at best (the three Roman factions are an invention of the designers, for example). And the game becomes a bit of a grind in its middle stages as one's faction expands.

    But these are all minor problems. Are you really looking for good diplomacy in a game called Total War? Historical accuracy is great for documentaries, but I want some War Elephants in my Gallic horde, thank you very much. And if you find yourself complaining about the difficulty of defending and expanding a vast, sweeping empire, isn't that a pretty good problem to have?

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Best game I ever play
    by curlrain, Canada - Nov 29th 2015

    This is my favorite game. With the mods it has an almost infinite lifetime.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. A well loved classic
    by thadd, USA - May 31st 2015

    This game is still fun even to this day. Some total war games are harder than others. Personally, I would rank this one among the top 2 TW games released. Ancient history, and faction relations all combined to make a great real tie strategy game with realistic elements and fun elements. If you don't like how easy the game is, you can turn the difficulty up and be truly challenged to manage your troops effectively.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Brilliant!!
    by cavallfort, United Kingdom - Apr 3rd 2015

    If you like strategy games this might be then for you!! I really like every single bit of this game: you really feel the pressure of being the head of an army. I particularly like the great control that one can have over each single unit. The political and social parts of the game are also a great deal if you like to control every single element of the empire.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Great gameplay and nearly endless replayability.
    by Matthew Zinsli, USA - Jan 30th 2015

    I took a chance on this game. I had always loved books, games, and movies related to the Roman Empire, and this turns out to have been one of the most enjoyable, immersive experiences I've had. The option to play as different factions allows for a lot of replay, but there could have been other scenarios beyond the main Imperial Campaign.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. ...
    by Alex500000, Spain - Jun 24th 2014

    Is not a very bad game but some things need to be fixed to realy enjoy this game

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. This game is fun and takes some learning to be fully enjoyed
    by Optimus Prime, USA - Apr 25th 2014

    This Total War series is famous and this is one of the originals that started it. I played the tutorial and I loved it. It did take some getting use to like any strategy game. You got to learn how to control units, rotate camera, etc. There is a learning curve and once you learn how to fully utilize the game, it is all fun and smooth sailing.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Tremendisisis simo
    by noeml, Mexico - Mar 20th 2014

    Un juego cuyo final tarda en llegar. hay cheats disponibles, lo cual aumenta en mucho el rango de jugabilidad. corre en mi mac vieja con los gráficos en una calidad baja, pero eso no le quita diversión.

    muy recomendable para los fans de juegos como age of empire.

    (A game whose final long in coming. no cheats available, which greatly increases the range of gameplay. runs with my old low quality graphics mac, but that does not take away fun. Highly recommended for fans of games like age of empire.)

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Rome Total War Gold Edition
    by ronaldo S. Ortiz, Philippines - Feb 28th 2014

    The best game I've ever had. I played this game continuously last Dec. I almost collapsed from exhaustion because I played it straight for more than twelve hours. It is that addictive. I could have carried on if the game had not finally stopped due to continuous play. There were so many options to conduct the campaign mode. You could become an armchair general playing this game. It is not just about battles but also about governing wisely which will enable you to become the Roman emperor. Plus when fighting battles especially the big and decisive ones you could get the feel of how confusing a real battle is.

    The Barbarian Invasion expansion is just as immersive as the original game is. Playing it even in the easiest mode requires a lot of patience and skills so that the result is immensely satisfying. This is not the game for the faint of heart who easily gets discouraged after meeting a lot of defeats. This is the most challenging game indeed that I ever played.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Really fun game to play
    by Bammy, USA - Dec 2nd 2013

    I really liked the campaign. i love these types of games and is in my top 5. i recommand getting this game for the campaign and the custom battles you can create and the multuplayer. i give it 4 stars because sometimes it glitches and doesnt save or something gets messed up and thats the only down side. great game

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. Great Game
    by Jason Ey, USA - Nov 5th 2013

    Played the original Rome:Total War on PC years ago, bought this to play it again.
    It is an older game so the graphics definitely don't feel as new as a lot of the games out there. More than makes up for this in gameplay.
    Have a turn based campaign map that is easy to use, battles you deploy your units and fight in real time.
    I would say that this game is no fun without a mouse. You loose the versatility of changing up formations and getting the full gameplay without a mouse.
    I had no issues downloading the game and playing it. Overall just a wonderful game. One of the top ten I've played.

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By Feral Interactive

Currency