Sid Meier's Railroads! Icon
Sid Meier's Railroads!
All aboard!

Build a railroad empire and shape a nation!

Lay track, route trains and watch the world come to life in this compelling mix of train set and business simulator. Become the ultimate railroad robber baron with the drive to shape a nation, build an empire and amass a fortune.

Spanning the history of the railroads from the steam engines of the 1830s to the bullet trains of today, Sid Meier’s Railroads! for Mac is a bold re-imagining of the legendary Railroad Tycoon (1990), the game that launched the “tycoon” genre.
  • Steam across 16 maps and seven historical scenarios that cover over 150 years of American and European history.
  • Control 40 historically-accurate trains, from the 0-4-0 Grasshopper to the TGV bullet train, customizing them with your own colour schemes and liveries.
  • Engage in corporate warfare with rival tycoons, slick entrepreneurs and robber barons such as J. Pierpont Morgan and Cornelius Vanderbilt.
  • Choose your cargo wisely! Marry the supply of natural resources with the demands of industry to create a thriving economy.
  • Trade stock, build industries and bid for patents to steam ahead of the competition.
  • Build the model railroad of your dreams in “Train Table” mode, where your imagination is free from the pressures of finance or competition.
  • Sabotage your rivals and monopolise the industry in LAN multiplayer mode or online using GameRanger Technology.
© 2006–2012 Take-Two Interactive Software and its subsidiaries. All rights reserved. Sid Meier’s Railroads!, 2K Games, the 2K logo, Firaxis Games, the Firaxis Games logo and Take-Two Interactive Software are all trademarks and/or registered trademarks of Take-Two Interactive Software, Inc. Uses Miles Sound System. Copyright ©1991-2012 by RAD Game Tools, Inc. Portions of this software are included under license: ©2006–2012 Scaleform Corporation. All rights reserved. Uses Gamebryo software ©1999-2012 Emergent Game Technologies. Mac and the Mac logo are trademarks of Apple Inc. registered in the U.S. and other countries. Feral and the Feral logo are trademarks of Feral Interactive Ltd. All other marks and trademarks are the property of their respective owners. All rights reserved.
Component Min Required Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.6.8Download the Mac Game Store App to compare your Mac requirements in real-time.

Get the App
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only
CPU CoresAny
CPU Speed1.8 GHz
System RAM3 GB
Drive Space1.5 GB
Video RAM128 MB
Video (ati)ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT *
Unsupported Video Cards: ATI Radeon X1300, ATI Radeon X1600, ATI Radeon X1900 XT
Video (nvidia)NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300 *
Unsupported Video Cards: NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500, NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600
Video (intel)Intel HD Graphics *
Unsupported Video Cards: Intel GMA 900, Intel GMA 950, Intel GMA X3100
  1. Fun, but lacks complexity.
    by monkeynutsmatt, United Kingdom - Sep 3rd 2014

    This game had me hooked from the start, mainly due to it's easy to use UI and a rewarding feeling when setting up the perfect routes. However, as a fan of more in depth strategy games I feel this lacked complexity, after around 15 hours of gameplay you have worked out the optimal way of setting up routes, and playing a game on the hardest difficulty becomes an absolute breeze. However, don't take this negatively, I have still had many hours of enjoyment, more so as a rewarding simulator than a challenging strategy game.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Good Game
    by mirec, Slovakia - Jun 8th 2014

    The game have good graphic and gameplay. I think best railroad game on Mac

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. What the...
    by Andrew Shepherd, Australia - Jun 2nd 2014

    Bought the game and installed it. Started the game and it crashed straight away. Shut down my computer and started the game up again and it crashed. Decided to re-install the game and now it is gone from my Mac Game Store Games Account.

    Disappointed does not begin to describe how I feel.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Very addictive
    by 1stMac, USA - Jun 2nd 2014

    This game is great. It allows you to shape a nation by connecting industry and people to various cities. You can play a sandbox mode called "Train Table" or play through missions. You can make it supper easy or supper hard. If I had to say something bad, I'd say... I wish there was more industry to choose from. Not enough different types of resources throughout the maps.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Enjoyable, but not long term
    by Carleelulu, Canada - May 30th 2014

    I enjoyed this game a lot, but after a few days—it got kind of dull and repetitive. It would have worked better if there were some expansion packs or different challenges thrown to make it more interesting. It was worth it though—best if you can try to grab it while on sale.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Great game, but unstable.
    by ojak, USA - May 28th 2014

    This game is fantastic. Unfortunately, it crashes kinda often, so I can only give it a 4-star.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Oh To Be A Rail Baron
    by Pool Shark One, Canada - Feb 3rd 2014

    I am totally blown away by the game. I love model railroads and have always wanted one in my basement. Now I have something better. I love the graphics and the way the game plays, but it can be hard to keep track of all the stations demands and supplies. I like the way things progress and evolve over the time period. I like to watch the trains move thru their routes and stations. The stations at each pick up is amanited and is cool to watch. Love it, love it, love it.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Basic fun
    by Black_Star, USA - Oct 14th 2013

    If your not really wanting to play a game that is too demanding, just a basic builder this is perfect, ive played 10 hours easy. Not mind blowing or mind numbing.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Awesome
    by deniz94, Denmark - Jul 22nd 2013

    I love this game! You should really try this game!

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. A game from train lovers to train lovers
    by Viacheslav Vydrenkov, Switzerland - May 9th 2013

    Railroads are beautiful and addictive. If you love trains and logistics this game is for you.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Booring
    by kaanokcu, Turkey - Mar 19th 2013

    Its a nice game and the best railroad game I've ever played for the first 1-2 days. Than it gets boring. I wouldnt suggest it if you don't want to gibe 30 dolllar for 2 days.

    5 out of 6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Great Addictive Gameplay for Train Lovers
    by vince055, USA - Mar 1st 2013

    This is a great game! Lots of different maps, trains, goods and every time you play it, you get different results. Routing and orginazing your trains is challenging and fun. Some reviews wrote that the routing is bugged, where bottle necking and traffic jams of trains occurs often. Actually it is not the case at al! It really depends on how you lay your tracks, plan your stops and orginze your routes, and that is what makes this game challening, smart and fun. Be efficient and plan ahead and you will have a well oiled transit system. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the zoom feature is not strong enough. I can't zoom in close enough to see the action and I can't zoom out enough to see my world as a whole. I highly suggest this game it will provide hours of intense ( yes, intense) fun!

    5 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. To expensive for what it delivers
    by Xlyder, USA - Jan 31st 2013

    If this game is above $15 bucks, its not worth it.

    The interface plain and simple belongs into a late 90's game. Creating a train route is fun, but try to run 2 or more trains along side and you run into a dump of a game. A city's max track is 4 and then you run into serious congestion problems. If your own tracks ain't the issue, then your competitor's will build up and around you and anything else. Making the map look more of a huge rollecoaster theme park.

    The worst of it all will have to be the scenario objectives, no story, no unlocks.. simply here are the objectives, accomplish them and go to the next map. Figure the supply and demand map and you'll be finishing scenarios in 30 mins or so.

    I wish Rail Road Tycoon 3 was available for mac os x. RRT3 is worth a 8.5 while Sid, a 1.9 That's about all I can share on the game.

    9 out of 11 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Railfan Delight!
    by MrKijiji, USA - Jan 27th 2013

    I thoroughly enjoy this game. I've been playing for about 2 months, after playing just the demo for about 6 weeks while I saved up the money to buy the game. It is a bit pricey, but this railfan really enjoys the play. A wider view would be nice, as others have said, but I have still found it to be enjoyable. The wide range of locations, varying geographic topographies to face, plus even the fantasy Santaland scenario adds a great deal of variation and playability. For some, I can see how it might appear to get boring after a while as the basic premise of the game doesn't change. For me however, though the purchase price was a bit high, it is truly enjoyable. I'll play this for a long time to come!

    2 out of 3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. I was expecting something more challenging
    by Andras Csibi, Hungary - Jan 19th 2013

    It's fun to play with for a couple of days, to watch your empire grow and the money flow, but it not really challenging and get's repetitive after a while.

    Also, I find it too expensive. I'm okay with buying a game for 10$ that I can enjoy for a few days, but I expected to be busy with this piece for weeks.

    Game runs fine on my 2012 MBA, no crashes.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
Game Ratings (128)
Your Rating & Review
More Game Details
More By Feral InteractiveFeral Interactive