Sid Meier's Railroads! Icon
Sid Meier's Railroads!
All aboard!

Build a railroad empire and shape a nation!

Lay track, route trains and watch the world come to life in this compelling mix of train set and business simulator. Become the ultimate railroad robber baron with the drive to shape a nation, build an empire and amass a fortune.

Spanning the history of the railroads from the steam engines of the 1830s to the bullet trains of today, Sid Meier’s Railroads! for Mac is a bold re-imagining of the legendary Railroad Tycoon (1990), the game that launched the “tycoon” genre.
  • Steam across 16 maps and seven historical scenarios that cover over 150 years of American and European history.
  • Control 40 historically-accurate trains, from the 0-4-0 Grasshopper to the TGV bullet train, customizing them with your own colour schemes and liveries.
  • Engage in corporate warfare with rival tycoons, slick entrepreneurs and robber barons such as J. Pierpont Morgan and Cornelius Vanderbilt.
  • Choose your cargo wisely! Marry the supply of natural resources with the demands of industry to create a thriving economy.
  • Trade stock, build industries and bid for patents to steam ahead of the competition.
  • Build the model railroad of your dreams in “Train Table” mode, where your imagination is free from the pressures of finance or competition.
  • Sabotage your rivals and monopolise the industry in LAN multiplayer mode or online using GameRanger Technology.
© 2006–2012 Take-Two Interactive Software and its subsidiaries. All rights reserved. Sid Meier’s Railroads!, 2K Games, the 2K logo, Firaxis Games, the Firaxis Games logo and Take-Two Interactive Software are all trademarks and/or registered trademarks of Take-Two Interactive Software, Inc. Uses Miles Sound System. Copyright ©1991-2012 by RAD Game Tools, Inc. Portions of this software are included under license: ©2006–2012 Scaleform Corporation. All rights reserved. Uses Gamebryo software ©1999-2012 Emergent Game Technologies. Mac and the Mac logo are trademarks of Apple Inc. registered in the U.S. and other countries. Feral and the Feral logo are trademarks of Feral Interactive Ltd. All other marks and trademarks are the property of their respective owners. All rights reserved.
Component Min Required My System Will It Run?
Mac OS X10.6.8  —  Download the Mac Game Store App to compare your Mac requirements in real-time.

Get the App
CPU TypeIntel Mac Only  —  
CPU CoresAny  —  
CPU Speed1.8 GHz  —  
System RAM3 GB  —  
Drive Space1.5 GB  —  
Video RAM128 MB  —  
Video (ati)ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT *  —  
Unsupported Video Cards: ATI Radeon X1300, ATI Radeon X1600, ATI Radeon X1900 XT
Video (nvidia)NVIDIA GeForce Go 7300 *  —  
Unsupported Video Cards: NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500, NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600
Video (intel)Intel HD Graphics *  —  
Unsupported Video Cards: Intel GMA 900, Intel GMA 950, Intel GMA X3100
  1. Oh To Be A Rail Baron
    by Alecat1, Canada - Feb 3rd 2014

    I am totally blown away by the game. I love model railroads and have always wanted one in my basement. Now I have something better. I love the graphics and the way the game plays, but it can be hard to keep track of all the stations demands and supplies. I like the way things progress and evolve over the time period. I like to watch the trains move thru their routes and stations. The stations at each pick up is amanited and is cool to watch. Love it, love it, love it.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. Basic fun
    by Black_Star, USA - Oct 14th 2013

    If your not really wanting to play a game that is too demanding, just a basic builder this is perfect, ive played 10 hours easy. Not mind blowing or mind numbing.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Awesome
    by deniz94, Denmark - Jul 22nd 2013

    I love this game! You should really try this game!

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. A game from train lovers to train lovers
    by Viacheslav Vydrenkov, Switzerland - May 9th 2013

    Railroads are beautiful and addictive. If you love trains and logistics this game is for you.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Booring
    by kaanokcu, Turkey - Mar 19th 2013

    Its a nice game and the best railroad game I've ever played for the first 1-2 days. Than it gets boring. I wouldnt suggest it if you don't want to gibe 30 dolllar for 2 days.

    5 out of 6 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Great Addictive Gameplay for Train Lovers
    by vince055, USA - Mar 1st 2013

    This is a great game! Lots of different maps, trains, goods and every time you play it, you get different results. Routing and orginazing your trains is challenging and fun. Some reviews wrote that the routing is bugged, where bottle necking and traffic jams of trains occurs often. Actually it is not the case at al! It really depends on how you lay your tracks, plan your stops and orginze your routes, and that is what makes this game challening, smart and fun. Be efficient and plan ahead and you will have a well oiled transit system. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the zoom feature is not strong enough. I can't zoom in close enough to see the action and I can't zoom out enough to see my world as a whole. I highly suggest this game it will provide hours of intense ( yes, intense) fun!

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. To expensive for what it delivers
    by Xlyder, USA - Jan 31st 2013

    If this game is above $15 bucks, its not worth it.

    The interface plain and simple belongs into a late 90's game. Creating a train route is fun, but try to run 2 or more trains along side and you run into a dump of a game. A city's max track is 4 and then you run into serious congestion problems. If your own tracks ain't the issue, then your competitor's will build up and around you and anything else. Making the map look more of a huge rollecoaster theme park.

    The worst of it all will have to be the scenario objectives, no story, no unlocks.. simply here are the objectives, accomplish them and go to the next map. Figure the supply and demand map and you'll be finishing scenarios in 30 mins or so.

    I wish Rail Road Tycoon 3 was available for mac os x. RRT3 is worth a 8.5 while Sid, a 1.9 That's about all I can share on the game.

    7 out of 8 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Railfan Delight!
    by MrKijiji, USA - Jan 27th 2013

    I thoroughly enjoy this game. I've been playing for about 2 months, after playing just the demo for about 6 weeks while I saved up the money to buy the game. It is a bit pricey, but this railfan really enjoys the play. A wider view would be nice, as others have said, but I have still found it to be enjoyable. The wide range of locations, varying geographic topographies to face, plus even the fantasy Santaland scenario adds a great deal of variation and playability. For some, I can see how it might appear to get boring after a while as the basic premise of the game doesn't change. For me however, though the purchase price was a bit high, it is truly enjoyable. I'll play this for a long time to come!

    2 out of 3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. I was expecting something more challenging
    by Andras Csibi, Hungary - Jan 19th 2013

    It's fun to play with for a couple of days, to watch your empire grow and the money flow, but it not really challenging and get's repetitive after a while.

    Also, I find it too expensive. I'm okay with buying a game for 10$ that I can enjoy for a few days, but I expected to be busy with this piece for weeks.

    Game runs fine on my 2012 MBA, no crashes.

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Entertaining, but buggy
    by rrfankb, USA - Jan 10th 2013

    I only gave the game three stars because of the frequent, unexplained crashes.

    The game play is nice and I enjoy the progressive challenge of the scenarios, but the game tends to crash. Normally, with the autosave feature the crashes would simply be a nuisance; however, the autosave feature does not always work.

    Additionally, on occasion the graphics will whack out (the sheep float in mid-air).

    Others have noted that the view only minimally zooms out, so navigating or getting a bird's eye view of the progress is not optimal.

    I'm not disappointed that I purchased the game, but be aware of the need to frequently save your game!

    3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Crashes !
    by Babin, - Dec 18th 2012

    Nice games but crashes ! After a few minutes of the game, it crash randomly. I hope they will fix this.

    3 out of 4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Good game but crashes
    by phil b, USA - Dec 15th 2012

    I have a new macbook pro 15 and have been playing it in train table mode for fun. problem is as I get the rails and trains set up and running and begin to fine tune things it seems to get overwelmed and either shuts my computer down or just crashes. I can restart from the last save but once it starts that is it. Restart a new game and then it WILL happen again when along in the game enough.

    Fix that and it will continue to be fun to play.

    4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Railroads! Mac compared to original Railroad Tycoon Mac
    by Randy K, USA - Nov 17th 2012

    I started playing Railroad Tycoon on a Mac in 1991 or 92. I still think that original version was the best game made for Mac ever, bar none. (I've kept an old G3 just to be able to still play RRT 1.) This new version on Mac has much more detailed graphics and other advantages, but is inferior in a few other ways.

    The principal drawback is the lack of ability to have a wider, more global view. In RRT 1 there were 4 different views that could be slected. Here there is only 1 view but you can zoom in and out with the mouse wheel. However that capability is limited because the zoom travel distance is quite small. I agree with other comments about claustrophobic feeling, especially as the game progresses and your area of operations widens.

    There is no comparable way to watch all (or almost all) of your operations at a glace as in RRT 1. The best workaround (partial) is to view the map that appears when building a new train. You can see cities and train routes (but not resources) as in RRT 1. I really miss the little station boxes with pick-ups waiting and deliveries made, as well as the speed bar on the trains list. This information is available in Railroads!, but only individually, one at a time, a much more laborious approach.

    Becasue of the lack of a global view of resources, I've taken to making a survey of resources and writing notes as to the most desirable. I have to scroll the entire map to cover all areas, a time consuming approach when the view is so close in.

    As others have comented, there are several bugs. Railroads! crashes several times a day on my 2011 Mac mini (i7, 2.7 MHz with 8 GB Ram). Thank goodness for the AutoSave function so I can go back to where I last was just before the crash.

    Routing problems include: (A) some trains can't be routed even when tracks to the destination exist; (B) where double tracks exist and several crossovers are built, some trains make numerous needless track changes, slowing operations dramatically; (C) where double tracks exist and several crossovers are built, some trains are routed into each other, causing an irrevesible opposing stop, even when other route choices were available that would have avoided the problem. The only solution is to completely delete at least one train.

    As was the case with RRT1, frequent saving is absoutely necessary, especially just before a big construction project.

    The game occasionally freezes for no apparent reason. This seems to happen only while the game is paused (which is necessary frequently). The only solution is to Force Quit, again the AutoSave function is invaluable to pick up from where you were at the time of the freeze.

    Apparently this game was first released in 2006 (PC version). Only now has a Mac version been made available. While I agree with other comments that a patch to address bugs would be excellent (I had such a patch for RRT 1), given the age of this game I am not optimistic that is likely.

    The graphics in Railraods! are just fabulous. I've never seen such detail and intricate animation before. As you get later into the game with many routes and trains, its a real joy to watch. And many of the wonderful sounds from RRT 1 are still in this new version. There are one or two sounds that are not explained in the manual that I have not yet figured out the meaning for. Also track building is easier and much more efficient.

    Bonds are missing from this new version, as are automatic year end summaries. All reports are still available, however. Missing is the efficiency report on train pickups, a useful guage of how much cargo is being missed.

    The manual does not explain if varying economic conditions affect track building costs, as in RRT 1. However, there is a summary of the cost to lay track (and grade characteristics) before committing to the construction, a big improvement over RRT 1. Also another big improvement in Railroads! is the ability to cross competitors' routes by means of a bridge. Also you can cross your own routes with bridges, as well :)

    Also missing from Railroads! are priority pick-ups and rush cargos. The only equivalent are cities soliciting new rail connections, with cash incentives for first to meet the delivery offer. I can not tell if there is any equivalent to the RRT 1 first year bonus for deliveries on new routes, the manual for Railroads! is no where near as detailed as was the case for RRT 1. Also, why is the manual set so you can't print it?

    Another big improvement in Railroads! is the ability to pick one of several choices as to the game length (number of years). This gives a lot more flexibility depending on how much time you have to play.

    Railroads! also has a multiplayer function, another big improvement over RRT 1. As I have not yet downloaded Game Ranger and tried this out (I've only had Railroads! a few days so far), I can't comment on the mechanics of multiplayer operations yet.

    Bottom line, if you remember RRT 1, most of this new game is familiar and picking it up will be a snap, you'll do it in no time. And its just GREAT to have a new version that runs on Macs with OS X! One of the best investments I've ever made in a computer game.

    23 out of 25 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Railroads! on Mac? This is just amazing...
    by joelm, United Arab Emirates - Nov 10th 2012

    One of I my favourites since ever, now revived into MAC :)
    Even on my MacBook Air Late 2010 (with 2GB RAM only) it runs smoothly without any issues at all!

    Keep bringing amazing games such as this one to Mac, PLEASE! :)

    3 out of 4 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  15. A few bugs but love it (again)
    by Uncle Buck, Australia - Nov 7th 2012

    So glad to see this come to MAC. I used to play it all the time in my old life as a PC user.

    I have had a couple of crashes and yes there are some weird routing issues every now and then but overall it's still a great game. Once the few bugs have been ironed out, I will be happy to give this 5 stars.

    6 out of 8 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
Game Ratings (119)
Your Rating & Review
More Game Details
More By Feral InteractiveFeral Interactive